Surviving Members Of Nirvana Team With Joan Jett & John McCauley At CalJam18

By Jeffrey Greenblatt Oct 7, 2018 6:34 am PDT

Foo Fighters hosted their second annual CalJam this weekend at the Helen Regional Park & Festival Grounds in San Bernardino, California. The two-day music festival curated by the rock band featured appearances from the likes of Billy Idol, Greta Van Fleet, Garbage, Tenacious D, Iggy Pop and more. The Foos served as the headlining act on Saturday night, but the biggest story coming out of festival came during encore as the surviving members of Nirvana reunited for a six-song set with Deer Tick frontman John McCauley and legendary rocker Joan Jett providing lead vocals.

Foo Fighters had been teasing the collaboration on Twitter posting a pair of grainy VHS style videos of both McCauley and Jett performing Nirvana songs that featured Grohl, bassist Krist Novoselic and guitarist Pat Smear backing them. After the Foos delivered an 18-song career-spanning set the stage was turned over to Grohl and his former Nirvana bandmates. While Novoselic has previously sat in with the Foo Fighters, including this past summer, last night marked the first time the trio had performed together since Nirvana’s induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2014.

McCauley, whose band Deer Tick has played full shows of Nirvana music as Deervana, fronted the band first. With McCauley at the helm, they delivered a pair of tracks from In Utero with “Serve The Servants” and “Scentless Apprentice” while looking to Nevermind for “In Bloom.” Jett emerged next reprising her role from the 2014 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ceremony. The iconic singer led Grohl, Novoselic and Smear through takes on “Breed,” “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and a festival-closing version of “All Apologies.”

Watch fan-shot video captured by Bionic Buzz below:

Serve The Servants w. John McCauley

Scenceless Apprentice w. John McCauley

In Bloom w. John McCauley

Breed w. Joan Jett

Smells Like Teen Spirit w. Joan Jett

All Apologies w. Joan Jett


Foo Fighters at Glen Helen Amphitheater

  • Run
  • The Sky Is a Neighborhood
  • La Dee Da  
  • Sunday Rain
  • Something From Nothing
  • Walk
  • These Days
  • Arlandria
  • The Pretender
  • Best of You
  • Times Like These
  • All My Life
  • Learn to Fly
  • Guitar Solo / Another One Bites the Dust / Keyboard Solo / Blitzkrieg Bop  
  • My Hero
  • Everlong
  • Monkey Wrench
  • For All the Cows
  • This Is a Call
  • Serve the Servants  
  • Scentless Apprentice  
  • In Bloom  
  • Breed  
  • Smells Like Teen Spirit  
  • All Apologies  

Loading tour dates

JamBase Collections