My Morning Jacket Guitarist Carl Broemel Shares New Solo Single ‘In The Dark’


On August 19, My Morning Jacket guitarist Carl Broemel will issue a new solo LP entitled 4th Of July through his recently established label Stocks In Asia and Thirty Tigers. Today, “In The Dark,” the second single from his second solo album has been made available in advance of the new record’s release.

Currently on tour with most of his MMJ bandmates in support of Ray LaMontagne, Broemel was joined in the studio by Jacket bassist Tom Blankenship and keyboardist Bo Koster, the latter of which also earning songwriting credits. Other artists tapped for 4th Of July included Neko Case, Laura Veirs, Russ Pollard, Shelly Colvin, Richard Medek and Jordan Caress with Teddy Morgan also returning as co-producer.

Premiered by Stereogum, stream the single “In The Dark” and the previously shared “Sleepy Lagoon” below:

4th Of July Tracklist

  1. Sleepy Lagoon
  2. 4th of July
  3. Rockingchair Dancer
  4. Snowflake
  5. Landing Gear
  6. In The Dark
  7. Crawlspace
  8. Best Of

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles