Bonny Light Horseman Releases ‘Jane Jane’ Single


Supergroup Bonny Light Horseman shared the third single, “Jane Jane,” from their upcoming self-titled debut album due out on January 24, 2020 via 37d03d Records. The group — consisting of Eric D. Johnson (Fruit Bats), Anais Mitchell and Josh Kaufman — shared the previous singles “Deep In Love” and the title track.

The album sees the group reworking traditional songs as well as writing new ones with the traditional songbook in mind. Mitchell spoke about “Jane Jane” in a statement:

I grew up with ‘Children Go Where I Send Thee,’ we used to sing it at Christmastime. I’d never heard ‘Jane Jane’ ‘til Eric shared the Tia Blake version of it with us during (I think) our first band hang in Dumbo. I know ‘Jane Jane’ is also sometimes performed as a standalone song and I don’t know who the first person was to mash up the two tunes, but definitely Tia Blake and Peter, Paul & Mary performed it that way. That major/minor shift just never gets old to me, it gives me chills and makes me feel like laughing at the same time.

Listen to “Jane Jane” below: