Bonny Light Horseman Announces Self-Titled Debut Album, Shares Single & Confirms 2020 Tour Dates


Supergroup Bonny Light Horseman will issue their self-titled debut album via 37d03d Records on January 24. The trio consisting of Anais Mitchell, Eric D. Johnson (Fruit Bats) and Josh Kaufman previewed the 10-track LP by sharing the single “Deep In Love” and detailed a series of early-2020 tour dates.

“Anaïs, Josh and Eric participated in the Eaux Claires and 37d03d residencies last summer and even from those first moments, Bonny Light Horseman blossomed into a project that is deeply collaborative and welcoming to a whole family of musicians,” said 37d03d co-founder Aaron Dessner. “The record captures the spirit of community and open collaboration that 37d03d was started to foster.” Kaufman produced Bonny Light Horseman.

The band described “Deep In Love” as “a Fruit Bats sketch, until Kaufman recognized its uncanny (and unplanned) similarity to a traditional tune by that name (it shares some lyrics with ‘Waly Waly’ / ‘The Water Is Wide’). What you hear is the first and only take of the song, recorded in the wee hours of a midwinter’s night at Dreamland Studio in Woodstock, New York.”

Bonny Light Horseman will support the Lp with their first headlining tour. The winter run starts at the Lodge Room in Los Angeles on January 21 and continues with West Coast dates in San Francisco, Portland and Seattle. A brief trip to Europe follows before the band plays Songbyrd Music House in Washington D.C. on February 4. From there, Bonny Light Horseman brings the tour to Philadelphia, Brooklyn, Woodstock and Burlington. Tickets go on sale this Friday, October 18 at 10 a.m. local time.

Stream the Bonny Light Horseman track “Deep In Love” below:

Eric D. Johnson appeared on a recent episode of The JamBase Podcast. Listen to Johnson discuss Bonny Light Horseman and more below:

Bonny Light Horseman Tracklist

  1. Bonny Light Horseman
  2. Deep In Love
  3. The Roving
  4. Jane Jane
  5. Blackwaterside
  6. Magpie’s Nest
  7. Lowlands
  8. Mountain Rain
  9. Bright Morning Stars
  10. 10,000 Miles