Pro-Shot Video & Full Show Audio: Dead & Company Fenway Finale Features Acoustic Segment & Oteil Singing ‘Fire’


Dead & Company continued their current tour on Sunday night with the second of two shows at historic Fenway Park in Boston. Grateful Dead members Bob Weir, Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann along with Jeff Chimenti, Oteil Burbridge and John Mayer had a few surprises in store for the faithful at Fenway over the course of two lengthy sets and an encore at the iconic ballpark.

The six-piece began the show with the Sunday sermon of “Samson & Delilah” ahead of “Brown-Eyed Women” and a Weir-sung “Big River.” Dead & Company presented “Candyman” next along with “Let It Grow.” From there, Mayer and Weir donned acoustic guitars for a set-closing segment that started innocently enough with “Friend Of The Devil” before embarking on an unusual unplugged “Dark Star.” The band jammed on “Dark Star” and Weir sang the first verse. Bobby then led a transition into a pretty “Ripple.”

Dead & Company came out for the second set and improvised for a bit before kicking into “Truckin’.” Another big surprise was ahead as “Fire On The Mountain” started. While Bob Weir had sung previous D&C versions of the tune, Oteil Burbridge showed off his lead vocal abilities on the Fenway version. An adventurous “St. Stephen” followed and eventually gave way to “Drums.” The Rhythm Devils gave a huge tour of their massive setup with help from Oteil. Mickey Hart then headed to The Beam to provide a base for “Space.”

When the entire band was back on stage, Dead & Company embarked on another “Dark Star” excursion. This time with electric instruments and including the second verse. A Chimenti solo then led into “Days Between.” The ballad was followed by a raucous “Not Fade Away.” For the encore, the sextet treated the Boston crowd to “Brokedown Palace.”

Dead & Company plays SPAC in Saratoga Springs, New York on Tuesday.

Watch pro-shot video of Sunday’s set openers:

[Samson & Delilah]


Here’s a collection of fan-shot videos from Sunday in Boston captured by Sean Roche:

[Fire On The Mountain]

[Friend Of The Devil]

[Big River]

Listen to full show audio taped by Keith Antaya:


Set One: Samson & Delilah, Brown-Eyed Women, Big River, Candyman, Let It Grow, Friend Of The Devil*, Dark Star (v1)* > Ripple*

Set Two: Jam > Truckin’ > Fire On The Mountain, St. Stephen > Drums > Space > Dark Star (v2) > Days Between > Not Fade Away

Encore: Brokedown Palace

* – John and Bobby on acoustics

  • Upcoming Shows

Related Bands

Related Articles

Featured Articles

More articles