Gorillaz Confirm New Album ‘Cracker Island’ & Share Single Feat. Tame Impala & Bootie Brown

Other guests on the album include Stevie Nicks, Thundercat, Beck and Bad Bunny.

By Andy Kahn Aug 31, 2022 11:46 am PDT

Gorillaz confirmed the February 24, 2023 release of a new album entitled Cracker Island via Parlophone. The project helmed by Damon Albarn shared the single, “New Gold,” featuring Tame Impala and Bootie Brown.

Gorillaz previously issued the Cracker Island title track featuring Thundercat. “Cracker Island” made its live debut earlier this year with a video of Thundercat playing alongside the band. Tame Impala’s Kevin Parker and longtime Gorillaz/Albarn collaborator Bootie Brown of The Pharcyde joined the group during the live premiere of “New Gold” earlier this month at London’s All Points East Festival. Listen to “New Gold”:

Others who appear across the pending album’s 10 tracks include Stevie Nicks, Beck, Bad Bunny and Adeleye Omotayo. Gorillaz’s eighth full-length album was recorded in London and Los Angeles in 2022. The record was co-produced by Greg Kurstin, Remi Kabaka Jr. and Gorillaz. Press materials described the album and its animated group members with the below statement:

Originally based at Kong Studios in West London, the group of musical misfits – Murdoc, Noodle, Russel and 2D – have relocated to Silverlake, California as they recruit new members to join “The Last Cult,” in search of the one truth to fix the world. Reports from the Golden State indicate that Murdoc is in love with the lady next door. Russel is glued to the TV. Noodle is compiling a handbook of wisdom and knowledge. And 2D is busy being 2D.

The virtual members of Gorillaz shared the following statements regarding Cracker Island:

Cracker Island is the sound of change and the chorus of the collective,” said Noodle.

”When the reckoning comes, gotta be ready to step through the gateway,” said Russel Hobbs. “Cracker Island’s got the entry codes…”

“The path to Cracker Island isn’t easy to find ‘cos it’s underwater,” said 2D.

“The hallowed tones of Cracker Island will soundtrack our collective ascension into the new dimension!,” said Murdoc Niccals. “JOIN ME!”

Gorillaz’s will soon embark on their 2022 North American Tour. The 21-date tour is the band’s first in the United States and Canada since 2018.

Loading tour dates


Cracker Island Tracklist

  1. Cracker Island (feat. Thundercat)
  2. Oil (feat. Stevie Nicks)
  3. The Tired Influencer
  4. Tarantula
  5. Silent Running (feat. Adeleye Omotayo)
  6. New Gold (feat. Tame Impala and Bootie Brown)
  7. Baby Queen
  8. Tormenta (feat. Bad Bunny)
  9. Skinny Ape
  10. Possession Island (feat. Beck)
JamBase Collections