Exclusive Premiere | GarciaLive Volume 5 – They Love Each Other

We’re just a few weeks away from the October 21st release of GarciaLive Volume Five: December 31st, 1975 Keystone Berkeley featuring the lone Jerry Garcia Band New Year’s Eve show. The 2-CD set/digital downloads are currently available for pre-order and today we’re proud to premiere one of our favorite tracks off the latest installment of the Jerry Garcia-focused live archival series.

The new release finds Jerry backed by bassist John Kahn, drummer Greg Errico and keyboardist Nicky Hopkins. In addition to the core band, the JGB was augmented by two special guests from Jerry’s other band, Bob Weir and Mickey Hart, as well as Matt Kelly of Kingfish for portions of the show. Errico, who’s best known for his work with Sly & The Family Stone, was on hand because the regular JGB drummer at the time, Ron Tutt, was on the road with Elvis Presley. The show featured on GarciaLive Volume 5 was Hopkins last performance with the JGB.

One of the songs the Jerry Garcia Band performed at the show featured on the new release was their throbbing take on “They Love Each Other.” The tune was debuted by the Grateful Dead in 1973 at a faster pace and was slowed to the tempo we’re all used to hearing when the JGB debuted it in October of 1975. Matt Kelly came out with his harmonica for “TLEO” and engages in some very nice interplay with Jerry. Take a listen to the premiere of “They Love Each Other” off GarciaLive Volume 5:

Here’s the tracklist for GarciaLive Volume Five: December 31st, 1975 Keystone Berkeley:

Disc 1:

Set One:
1. Let It Rock
2. Mother Nature’s Son
3. It Ain’t No Use
4. God Save The Queen
5. They Love Each Other
6. Pig’s Boogie

Disc 2:

Set Two:
1. New Year’s Countdown
2. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
3. Catfish John
4. Mystery Train ->
5. Drums -> New Year’s Jam
6. Mystery Train

Set Three:

7. Tore Up Over You
8. Tuning
9. C.C. Rider
10. (I’m A) Road Runner