Death Cab For Cutie Details New Album ‘Thank You For Today’ & Shares Single

Death Cab for Cutie shared details of their previously announced new studio album. The Seattle-based band will issue Thank You For Today via Atlantic Records on August 17, featuring the single “Gold Rush” that can be found below.

DCFC recorded their ninth studio album in late-2017 and early-2018 in Los Angeles with producer Rich Costey. The 10-track LP is the first issued by the group established in 1997 in Bellingham, Washington without co-founding member Chris Walla. The new record includes contributions from co-founding frontman Ben Gibbard, bassist Nick Harmer, drummer Jason McGerr and touring guitarist/keyboardist Dave Depper and keyboardist/guitarist Zac Rae.

“I realized early on in the process that I wanted to write a record that is very much who we are,” said Gibbard. “I wanted to go more inward, and create something more personal.”


DCFC will tour this fall in support of Thank You For Today. Featuring a sample of Yoko Ono’s 1972 song “Mind Train,” watch the video for “Gold Rush” here:


Thank You For Today Tracklist

  1. I Dreamt We Spoke Again
  2. Summer Years
  3. Gold Rush
  4. Your Hurricane
  5. When We Drive
  6. Autumn Love
  7. Northern Lights
  8. You Moved Away
  9. Near/Far
  10. 60 & Punk
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Articles