David Byrne Releases ‘American Utopia’ Broadway Cast Album


David Byrne and Nonesuch Records released the cast album to Byrne’s critically acclaimed Broadway show David Byrne’s American Utopia. The record is available now on streaming platforms and will see a physical release on November 22 via Nonesuch.

David Byrne’s studio album American Utopia arrived in 2018 and received a Grammy nomination. The Broadway production drew inspiration from the subsequent tour which saw Byrne and an ensemble cast touring the world performing songs from the record as well as music from Talking Heads and Byrne’s solo career.

After a run in Boston and previews, David Byrne’s American Utopia officially opened on Broadway at the Hudson Theatre on October 20. The cast features Byrne along with Jacquelene Acevedo, Gustavo Di Dalva, Daniel Freedman, Chris Giarmo, Tim Keiper, Tendayi Kuumba, Karl Mansfield, Mauro Refosco, Stéphane San Juan, Angie Swan and Bobby Wooten III. Davi Viera is also featured on the album.

The production team includes sound and lighting by Pete Keppler and Rob Sinclair respectively with choreography by Annie-B Parson. The show will see six performances a week and run until January 19, 2020. Head here for ticket information.

In the meantime check out the trailer and stream David Byrne’s American Utopia cast album below:

David Byrne’s American Utopia Tracklist

  1. Here
  2. I Know Sometimes a Man Is Wrong / Don’t Worry About the Government
  3. Lazy
  4. This Must Be the Place (Naïve Melody)
  5. I Zimbra
  6. Slippery People
  7. I Should Watch TV
  8. Everybody’s Coming to My House
  9. Once in a Lifetime
  10. Glass, Concrete & Stone
  11. Toe Jam
  12. Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
  13. I Dance Like This
  14. Bullet
  15. Every Day Is a Miracle
  16. Blind
  17. Burning Down the House
  18. Hell You Talmbout
  19. One Fine Day
  20. Road to Nowhere
  21. The Great Curve (Bonus Track)