Bonny Light Horseman Shares ‘The Roving’ Single


Bonny Light Horseman — the supergroup consisting of Anais Mitchell, Josh Kaufman and Fruit Bats mastermind Eric D. Johnson— shared the fourth single, “The Roving,” from their upcoming self-titled debut due out on January 24 via 37d03d Records.

The trio that made their debut at the 2018 Eaux Claires festival will soon set out on tour in support of the record. The 10-song LP contains reimagined timeless traditional songs alongside neo-traditional originals.

“These 500-year-old lyrics are so deeply applicable,” Johnson said in a statement. “‘The Roving’ could be the plot of an ’80s teen movie: ‘I had a wild summer with this awesome girl then she broke my heart!’ How incredible is it that as humans we still just want to love and have sex and feel sad and fight?”

“Everyone will recognize this story, where you detect the littlest flicker in your lover’s eye, and you know it’s the beginning of the end,” Mitchell added. “We added a singalong chorus so everyone could bond about this!”

Listen to “The Roving” below: