Big Thief Announces New Album ‘Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You’

Hear new single "Time Escaping" from the forthcoming double-LP.

By Scott Bernstein Nov 16, 2021 10:58 am PST

On February 11, Big Thief will issue their new album, Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You (DNWMIBIY), through 4AD. Today, the quartet unveiled the new single, “Time Escaping,” one of 20 tracks featured on the double-LP.

The band consisting of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek and James Krivchenia spent five months working on their forthcoming fifth studio album. DNWMIBIY was written and recorded at four different sessions. Big Thief finished sessions held last year in upstate New York, California’s Topanga Canyon, Colorado’s Rocky Mountains and Tucson, Arizona with 45 tunes ready. Krivchenia produced DNWMIBIY which saw the group whittle down the 45 songs to 20 tracks described in press materials as “a fluid and adventurous listen.”

Shawn Everett engineered the session in Topanga Canyon after Big Thief started the process at Sam Evian’s Flying Cloud Recordings facility in upstate New York. Recordings from the session in the Colorado Rockies were engineered by Dom Monks and the last session was held at Scott McMicken’s home studio in Tucson. Fiddler/vocalist Mat Davison contributed to the songs recorded at the last session.

Lenker shared the following about the forthcoming Big Thief album:

One of the things that bonds us together as a band is pure magic. I think we all have the same guide and none of us have ever spoken what it is because we couldn’t name it, but somehow, we are all going for the same thing, and when we hit it… we all know it’s it, but none of us to this day, or maybe ever, will be able to articulate in words what the ‘it’ is. Something about it is magic to me.

Big Thief previously shared Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You tracks “Little Things,” “Sparrow,” “Certainty” and “Change.” Hear the album’s “Time Escaping” below:

Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You Tracklist

  1. Change
  2. Time Escaping
  3. Spud Infinity
  4. Certainty
  5. Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You
  6. Sparrow
  7. Little Things
  8. Heavy Bend
  9. Flower of Blood
  10. Blurred View
  11. Red Moon
  12. Dried Roses
  13. No Reason
  14. Wake Me up to Drive
  15. Promise Is a Pendulum
  16. 12,000 Lines
  17. Simulation Swarm
  18. Love Love Love
  19. The Only Place
  20. Blue Lightning
JamBase Collections