‘You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album’ Features Hiss Golden Messenger, William Tyler & More


Hiss Golden Messenger, William Tyler and Lucinda Williams are among the musicians who contributed to You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album. The 14-track release, which can be streamed below, features both original music and covers of traditional songs performed by the label’s artists.

All of the songs have been recorded specifically for inclusion on the new compilation. You Wish continues a celebration of Merge Records’ 30th anniversary. Included within are Tyler’s rendition of “Jesus Christ” by Big Star, Hiss Golden Messenger and Williams’ take on John Prine’s “Christmas In Prison” and “Blue Christmas” as performed by Shout Out Louds. Mike Krol, The Essex Green, Mikal Cronin and Telekinesis are among those who went the original route.

Those who subscribed to Merge’s “Born Under A Good Sign” program will receive the compilation on colored vinyl. A black vinyl version will be available at select independent record stores starting in November. Stream You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album below:


You Wish: A Merge Records Holiday Album Tracklist

  1. Keep Your Christmas – Coco Hames
  2. Green Christmas – The Essex Green
  3. Won’t Be Alone Tonight – Mike Krol
  4. Down We Go (Sledding Song) – Mac McCaughan, Annie Hayden
  5. Baby In The Hay – Fruit Bats
  6. White Christmas – Apex Manor
  7. Jesus Christ – William Tyler
  8. Christmas In Prison – Hiss Golden Messenger, Lucinda Williams
  9. I Was Made For Losing You – Eric Bachmann
  10. Christmas Time Is Here (Uh Oh) – Telekinesis
  11. Christmastime Heist – Mikal Cronin
  12. Love Asked Me To Stay – Will Butler
  13. Santa, Don’t Say No – Tracyanne & Danny
  14. Blue Christmas – Shout Out Louds