Widespread Panic To Release ‘Sunday Show’ Live Album & Record Studio Album With John Keane


Widespread Panic will release a live album entitled Sunday Show on Record Store Day, April 18. The news was revealed as part of The Aquarian Weekly’s feature on the band’s upcoming residency at The Beacon Theatre in New York City. Bassist Dave Schools also revealed Panic will record a new studio album with longtime producer John Keane in Athens this May.

Sunday Show was recorded on March 24, 2019 at The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York. The concert was the last of a three-night run that marked the band’s return to the venue for the first time since 1992. Panic focused on classic material over the course of the show, which ended with a 27-minute, four-song encore. Highlights included a run of “Little Lilly” into “Airplane” into “Jaded Tourist” as well as covers of Warren Zevon’s “Lawyers Guns & Money,” Traffic’s “Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys” and The Guess Who’s “No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature.” More details on Sunday Show are forthcoming.


Dave Schools spoke with The Aquarian about his love of the venue where Panic will play five sold-out nights between February 27 – March 2. “I love the Beacon,” Schools said. “I can’t wait to go back there and do this. Obviously, there’s a lot of rock and roll history [there]. We don’t tour that much anymore, so five nights there is awesome. Five nights can be a challenge, but when you parcel things out just the right way and leave plenty of room for spontaneity to happen onstage, it all works out great.”

The bassist also discussed the next Panic studio album. “Going to John’s place in Athens is literally like returning to the nest,” the current California resident noted. “There’s a dynamic there and a level of respect that goes both ways, and it’s funny and fun and he can call bullshit on us and we don’t take it personally. That’s the role of a producer. The sound he gets is fantastic, so we’ve always had a really great time when we go to the studio.”


Setlist (via Everyday Companion)

Set One: Holden Oversoul > Makes Sense To Me, Let’s Get Down To Business, Little Lilly > Airplane > Jaded Tourist, Blue Indian, The Last Straw > Life During Wartime

Set Two: Lawyers, Guns, And Money, Little Kin > Love Tractor, I’m Not Alone, North, One Kind Favor, Bust It Big, Mercy, I’m So Glad, Postcard, Ain’t Life Grand

Encore: This Part Of Town, Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys > Disco > Low Spark Of High Heeled Boys, No Sugar Tonight/New Mother Nature

[‘The Other One’ jam after ‘Mercy’]