Ween Debuts Emerson Lake & Palmer Cover & Busts Out ‘Slow Down Boy’ In Denver

Watch the band premiere their take on "From The Beginning" and perform "Slow Down Boy" for the first time since 2011.

By Scott Bernstein Nov 1, 2021 12:50 pm PDT

Ween concluded a three-night Halloween weekend run at Denver’s Mission Ballroom on Sunday with their 100th show since reuniting in 2016. The band had a few big treats in store for the final two concerts in Denver, as Saturday’s performance featured Ween’s debut cover of the Emerson, Lake & Palmer classic “From The Beginning” and last night’s show included the return of “Slow Down Boy” after nearly a decade on the shelf.

Saturday’s 34-song performance began with “Get A Taste Of You.” Ween then dusted off “Marble Tulip Juicy Tree” for the first time since July 24, 2018. The quintet went heavy on staples for the bulk of the evening, including “Voodoo Lady,” “Waving My Dick In The Wind,” “Buckingham Green,” “Push th’ Little Daises,” “Touch My Tooter” and “I Can’t Put My Finger On It.”

Ween did serve up a handful of 2021 debuts on Saturday in addition to “From The Beginning.” The band brought back “Common Bitch,” “Captain,” “Don’t Sweat It” and “I’m In The Mood To Move” for the first time this year on night two in Denver. The latter was followed by a seven-minute “Poopship Destroyer” and a pairing of “I’m Holding You” and “The Blarney Stone” to close the main set. Aaron “Gene Ween” Freeman went acoustic for an encore that started with Ween’s first take on “From The Beginning,” a song released by ELP on their 1972 album, Trilogy. Gener remained unplugged for “Chocolate Town” and “Birthday Boy” to end the night.

Ween treated fans to a 35-song show on Halloween last night. Gener, guitarist Mickey “Dean Ween” Melchiondo, bassist Dave Dreiwitz and drummer Claude Coleman, Jr. dressed as state troopers while keyboardist Glenn McClelland appeared as a Canadian mountie. It probably wasn’t a coincidence the band opened the night with their first “There’s A Pig” since July 13, 2017. Ween put the focus on material from Chocolate & Cheese, Pure Guava, The Pod and GodWeenSatan: The Oneness with four tracks from each album making the setlist on Halloween.

“Slow Down Boy” was played on Halloween for the first time since December 30, 2011 — a span of 101 shows. Other rarities included “Monique The Freak” and a cover of Motorhead’s “Ace Of Spades,” which each was last played in 2018. Additionally, Ween fit in teases of Led Zeppelin’s “Over The Hills And Far Away” and Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “I Know A Little.” For the encore, “What Deaner Was Talkin’ About” was followed by a “Baby Bitch” dedicated to Kirk Miller. Ween ended the encore, evening and run with “Drifter In The Dark” featuring Gener on acoustic.

Watch fan-shot video featuring “From The Beginning” and “Slow Down Boy” below:

The Stallion Mang (See 209 videos)
Ween (See 382 videos)

The Stallion Mang (See 209 videos)
Ween (See 382 videos)

Setlists (via BrownBase) & Full-Show Audio (Taped by Mike B)

Saturday, October 30

Set: Get a Little Taste of You, Marble Tulip Juicy Tree, The Stallion pt 3, Bananas and Blow, She Fucks Me, Voodoo Lady, I’ll Miss You, Waving My Dick in the Wind, I Got to Put the Hammer Down, Nan, Common Bitch, Gabrielle, Object, Buckingham Green, Captain, Stay Forever, Push th’ Little Daisies, The Mollusk, Polka Dot Tail, Little Birdy, Springtheme, Don’t Sweat It, I Can’t Put My Finger on It, Touch My Tooter, Stroker Ace, Boy’s Club, Pandy Fackler, I’m in the Mood to Move, Poopship Destroyer, I’m Holding You, The Blarney Stone

Encore: From the Beginning, Chocolate Town, Birthday Boy

– Gene on acoustic for encore

Sunday, October 31

Set: There’s a Pig, Licking the Palm For Guava> Mushroom Festival in Hell, Happy Colored Marbles, Flutes of the Chi, Sorry Charlie, Even If You Don’t, The Stallion pt 5, The Goin’ Gets Tough From the Getgo, I’ll Be Your Jonny on the Spot, Slow Down Boy, Don’t Get 2 Close (2 My Fantasy), Japanese Cowboy, I Saw Gener Cryin’ in His Sleep, Frank, Over the Hills and Far Away (tease), She’s Your Baby, I Don’t Want to Leave You on the Farm, Don’t Laugh (I Love You), Demon Sweat, Zoloft, Doctor Rock, Mister Would You Please Help My Pony?, Put the Coke on My Dick, Monique the Freak, I Know a Little (tease), Pumpin’ 4 the Man, Transitions, The Argus, Ace of Spades, You Fucked Up, Israel, Ocean Man, Homo Rainbow

Encore: What Deaner Was Talkin’ About, Baby Bitch, Drifter in the Dark

  • – Gene, Dean, Dave and Claude came onstage dressed as goddamn pigs state troopers, and Glenn as a Canadian mountie
  • – Put the Coke on My Dick dedicated to Claude’s mother-in-law
  • – Baby Bitch dedicated to Kirk Miller
  • – Gene on acoustic for Drifter
  • – 100th show since reuniting in 2016
  • Ween Busts Out ‘Can U Taste The Waste?’ In Denver

    Ween Busts Out ‘Can U Taste The Waste?’ In Denver 

  • Ween Debuts ‘Cornbread Red’ & Busts Out ‘Koko’ + ‘I Wuz Nothin’’ At Brooklyn Bowl Las Vegas

    Ween Debuts ‘Cornbread Red’ & Busts Out ‘Koko’ + ‘I Wuz Nothin’’ At Brooklyn Bowl Las Vegas 

  • Ween Returns For 1st Show In 18 Months

    Ween Returns For 1st Show In 18 Months 

JamBase Collections