Video & Full Show Audio: John Kadlecik & Ron Holloway Join Melvin Seals & JGB At The Capitol Theatre

By Andy Kahn Mar 4, 2017 11:30 am PST

Longtime Jerry Garcia Band keyboardist Melvin Seals brought his Melvin Seals & JGB project to The Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, New York for a show featuring an opening set by the John Kadlecik Band. Seals and the band were joined throughout the night Friday by saxophonist Ron Holloway and Kadlecik sat-in with the group as well.

Featuring a lineup of Seals, drummer Peter Lavezzoli, bassist John-Paul McLean, guitarist Zach Nugent and vocalists Cheryl Rucker and Shirley Starks, the JGB first set kicked off with “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)” and “Cats Under The Stars.” Other set one selections included “Tore Up Over You,” “Dear Prudence” and “Midnight Moonlight.”

“Roadrunner” opened the second half that also featured takes on such Garcia staples as “Mystery Train” and “My Sisters And Brothers.” Kadlecik came back to The Cap stage toward the end of the second set to add guitar to “The Harder They Come” and “Deal.” Watch video from last night captured by Stephen Hurtes here:

[The Harder They Come | Captured by Sean Roche]

[How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) > Cats Under The Stars | Captured by Sean Roche]

[Tore Up Over You | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Dear Prudence | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Midnight Moonlight | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[You Never Can Tell (C’est La Vie) | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Mystery Train | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Crazy Fingers (John Kadlecik Band) | Captured by Sean Roche]

[Golden Wings > Mercury Transit (John Kadlecik Band) | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Sister Smiles (John Kadlecik Band) | Captured by Stephen Hurtes]

[Ripple (John Kadlecik Band) | Captured by Sean Roche]

Audio (Taped by nico11104)

Melvin Seals & JGB

Set One: How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) > Cats Under The Stars, What A Wonderful World, Tore Up Over You, Mississippi Moon, Dear Prudence, Midnight Moonlight

Set Two: (I’m A) Roadrunner, You Never Can Tell (C’est La Vie), Positively 4th Street, Mystery Train, My Sisters And Brothers, The Harder They Come* > Deal*

John Kadlecik Band

Set: Crazy Fingers > Rising Sun, Golden Wings > Mercury Transit > So Many Roads > What’s Become Of Mary, Sister Smiles > Ripple

Loading band summary

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections