Trey Anastasio Announces New Album ‘Lonely Trip’


Trey Anastasio of Phish will release a new album entitled Lonely Trip tomorrow, Friday, July 31 via his Rubber Jungle Records imprint. Anastasio wrote and recorded the material on Lonely Trip while locked down during the coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic in New York City over the past four months. SiriusXM’s Phish Radio will premiere the album in its entirety tonight at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

Anastasio originally shared the songs featured on Lonely Trip via Instagram when they were finished. Trey tapped longtime collaborator Bryce Goggin to remix the tracks, which were recorded in “low-fi” fashion on a Spire 8-track. Tom Marshall and Scott Herman contributed to the songwriting process. The announcement comes one day after Anastasio issued “…And Flew Away,” an eight+ minute song featured on the LP.


Read a statement from Trey Anastasio about Lonely Trip:

Lonely Trip was conceived and recorded in isolation at my home studio (aka Rubber Jungle) during the peak of New York City’s COVID-19 crisis, March – July, 2020. When the lockdown began, I had by chance just completed a weekend songwriting session with my friends and longtime collaborators Tom Marshall and Scott Herman. That session took place March 13th and 14th just as the crisis was beginning in New York, so the themes of fear and isolation were already finding their way into those first songs. By the time I arrived home, the situation in NYC had gotten much worse.

Knowing I wasn’t going to be leaving my apartment for a while, I started working. It felt therapeutic to write. I wanted to connect with our community in some way. The unplanned nature of the recording meant I didn’t have a lot of gear during this process. I had an electric and an acoustic guitar, a small amp, two microphones, some percussion, and two keyboards, including an old Kurzweil with very realistic drum sounds on it. Everything was recorded through a Spire 8-track. Lonely Trip is truly a raw, low-fi recording.

The process of writing songs became a reflective and healing experience. Being able to share these songs instantly with our community via Instagram felt equally profound. It harkened back to my youth, before there was a Phish, when I would write songs and home-record them specifically with the intention of sharing them with my circle of friends via cassette four-track recordings.

As the weeks went by, I worked on improving my recording techniques. I called recording engineers including Ben Collette and Vance Powell to get tips on microphone placement, and I purchased a bass guitar online. I also started tapping into a Dropbox folder with about 30 four-minute drum sequences that I had recorded with Jon Fishman over the last year.

For the previous few Phish albums (including Kasvot Vaxt and Sigma Oasis), I had been experimenting with writing songs, starting with drum beats that I had sung into my phone. Fish and I would go into the studio and record the beats exactly as I had sung them, with Fish launching off in his unique way after a minute or two. I used these beats as building blocks to many of the songs on Lonely Trip, and it explains how I could do a whole album in Rubber Jungle with such good sounding drums. Thank you Fish!

The album was ultimately mixed by my friend Bryce Goggin, and as always, Bryce’s mixes sound incredible. Thank you Bryce!

Lonely Trip was my message in a bottle during this time, and I wish I knew how to properly thank all of you in our community for listening and responding. It meant so much to me. Thank you. Wishing all of you much love and safety during this turbulent time.

This album is dedicated to the heroism of our healthcare and essential workers.

— Trey


Lonely Trip Tracklist

  1. Shaking Someone’s Outstretched Hand
  2. A Wave Of Hope
  3. I Never Left Home
  4. Lost In The Pack
  5. If I Could See The World
  6. The Greater Good
  7. When The Words Go Away
  8. Lotus
  9. I Never Needed You Like This Before
  10. The Silver Light
  11. Are You There Colleen
  12. …And Flew Away
  13. Till We Meet Again
  14. Evolve
  15. Lonely Trip
More Trey Anastasio on JamBase
  • Trey Anastasio Releases New Song '...And Flew Away'

    Trey Anastasio Releases New Song '...And Flew Away' 

  • Trey Anastasio Discusses Future Of Phish & Power Of Live Music In New Interview

    Trey Anastasio Discusses Future Of Phish & Power Of Live Music In New Interview 

  • Trey Anastasio Shares New Song ‘A Wave Of Hope’

    Trey Anastasio Shares New Song ‘A Wave Of Hope’ 

  • Trey Anastasio Premieres New Song ‘If I Could See The World’

    Trey Anastasio Premieres New Song ‘If I Could See The World’ 

  • Trey Anastasio Shares New Song ‘Evolve’

    Trey Anastasio Shares New Song ‘Evolve’ 

  • Trey Anastasio Shares ‘Till We Meet Again’ Video

    Trey Anastasio Shares ‘Till We Meet Again’ Video