Trey Anastasio Shares ‘Ghosts Of The Forest’ Title Track

By Scott Bernstein Apr 2, 2019 6:15 am PDT

Trey Anastasio unveiled the title track of his Ghosts Of The Forest (GOTF) album just two days before he kicks off the GOTF tour and less than two weeks before the release of the album. Ghosts Of The Forest is due on April 12 via Anastasio’s Rubber Jungle Records label.

The guitarist shared a clip with the caption “Get In” over the weekend and it’s that excerpt that starts the song “Ghosts Of The Forest,” which opens the nine-track album and features a mix of soaring guitar leads, acoustic guitar rhythms and intense lyrics. In keeping with the mysterious nature of the project, Trey only posted links to Apple Music and Spotify on his website and in social media posts heralding the track with no further context. However, the Apple Music link includes the tracklist, which shows the LP contains a 20+ minute finale titled “Beneath A Sea Of Stars.” There is also a song titled “Ruby Waves,” the same name as a tune the Trey Anastasio Band played one time in 2008. All told, Ghosts In The Forest spans 59 minutes. Listen to “Ghosts Of The Forest”:

Home v2

Anastasio wrote the material on the album in tribute to his friend Chris “CCott” Cottrell, who passed away from cancer last year. The Ghosts Of The Forest tour starts on Thursday at The State Theatre in Portland, Maine. Trey’s band for the run features Phish drummer Jon Fishman, Broadway star Celisse and longtime Trey Anastasio Band members Jennifer Hartswick, Tony Markellis and Ray Paczkowski.

Ghosts Of The Forest Tracklist

  1. Ghosts Of The Forest
  2. Drift While You’re Sleeping
  3. Friend
  4. About To Run
  5. Halfway Home
  6. In Long Lines
  7. Ruby Waves
  8. Brief Time
  9. Beneath A Sea Of Stars

Tour Dates for Ghosts Of The Forest

JamBase Collections