The New Mastersounds Announce New Album & Tour


Funk revivalists The New Mastersounds have a busy fall planned. Not only will the quartet release a new album, Made For Pleasure, they will support the LP with an extensive tour. On October 2 The New Mastersounds will release Made For Pleasure via Brooklyn-based independent label, Royal Potato Family. “The album’s title is very much the ethos of the band,” guitarist Eddie Roberts explained in a press release. “We make music for our own pleasure and for other people’s pleasure. It’s about sharing energy with an audience, whether it be live or listening at home.”

The members of the Mastersounds are joined on the 11-track album by guests including soul chanteuse Charly Lowry, revered percussionist/vibraphonist Mike Dillon and the North Cali-based West Coast Horns, featuring tenor saxophonist Joe Cohen and trumpeter Mike Olmos. “In the past, the guests on our records haven’t really influenced the writing process,” said drummer Simon Allen. “But on this record the horns were with us while we were jamming in the studio, so tunes that might not have gone anywhere suddenly came to life because they were coming up with top-line melodies to make sense of our grooves.”

“The experience of working with Charly Lowry added a whole other dimension to the record. She’s so natural and she’s got things to say,” Roberts continued. “She’s an amazing being and I was excited to work with her.”

Listen to the album’s title track, “Made For Pleasure”:

The New Mastersounds’ Fall Tour begins at the Crescent Ballroom in Phoenix on September 30. After that, the quartet heads up the West Coast and then to the mountain region before ending the tour in Midwest and Southeast.

Tour Dates for
The New Mastersounds