The Lone Bellow Details New Album ‘Love Songs For Losers’ & Shares Single

Preview the trio’s new LP with “Honey.”

By Nate Todd Sep 14, 2022 3:51 pm PDT

The Lone Bellow will issue a new album, Love Songs For Losers, on November 4 via Dualtone Music Group. The Brooklyn-born, Nashville-based trio also shared the single, “Honey.”

Love Songs For Losers follows The Lone Bellow’s 2020 album, Half Moon Light. The band’s Zach Williams, Brian Elmquist and Kanene Donehey Pipkin crafted the new LP’s 11 tracks in a church before decamping to the former Nashville residence of the late great Roy Orbison to cut the record over the course of eight weeks. After working with renowned producers like The National’s Aaron Dessner and eight-time Grammy-winner Dave Cobb, the trio decided to helm Love Songs For Losers themselves, marking their first self-production.

​​“One of the reasons we went with Love Songs for Losers as the album title is that I’ve always seen myself as a loser in love – I’ve never been able to get it completely right,” Williams said of the new LP. “The songs are looking at bad relationships and wonderful relationships and all the in-between, sometimes with a good deal of levity. It’s us just trying to encapsulate the whole gamut of experience that we all go through as human beings.”

The Lone Bellow previously released Love Songs For Losers track “Gold” in July along with 2022 fall tour dates. Today’s album announcement arrived with another preview.

“‘Honey’ came from thinking about how my wife doesn’t like being called ‘honey’ or ‘baby’ – she thinks it’s lazy, it always rubs her the wrong way,” Williams noted on the new single. “It turned into a song about sometimes wanting to go back to when we were first in love, when everything was crazy and exciting and we were right on the verge of ruining each other’s lives at any second.”

Stream “Honey” below:

Loading tour dates

Love Songs For Losers Tracklist:

  1. Honey
  2. Gold
  3. I’m In Love
  4. Cost Of Living
  5. Dreaming
  6. Move
  7. Unicorn
  8. Wherever Your Heart Is
  9. Homesick
  10. Caught Me Thinkin’
  11. Great Divide
JamBase Collections