Watch Tedeschi Trucks Band Jam With Jimmie Vaughan On ‘Little By Little’ In Austin

See the legendary Texas blues guitarist join TTB for a Junior Wells classic.

By Nate Todd May 9, 2023 11:43 am PDT

Tedeschi Trucks Band came to the Moody Amphitheater in Austin on Sunday. The penultimate stop on a five-city Texas swing saw the band welcoming the Lone Star State’s own Jimmie Vaughan on guitar for Junior Wells’ “Little By Little” to kick off the second set.

TTB launched the first set with two tracks, “Playing With My Emotions” and “Ain’t That Something,” from the group’s four-part 2022 album I Am the Moon. The songs are the first and second cuts on I Am the Moon II: Ascension. Derek And The Dominos’ “Bell Bottom Blues” counted as the first cover of the evening followed by the title track to TTB’s 2016 LP, Let Me Get By.


A song from the Taj Mahal catalog, “Everybody’s Got to Change Sometime,” came next before Tedeschi Trucks Band returned to I Am The Moon material with “Yes We Will” (I Am the Moon III: The Fall) and the closing tracks on I Am the Moon I: Crescent “Circles ‘Round the Sun” and guitarist Derek Trucks’ instrumental opus “Pasaquan.” TTB wrapped the first frame with Mike Reid’s “I Can’t Make You Love Me.”

Tedeschi Trucks Band welcomed Texas guitar legend Jimmie Vaughan to begin the second set. Born in Dallas, Jimmie moved to Austin in the late 1960s forming The Fabulous Thunderbirds and a relationship with renowned Austin blues promoter Clifford Antone, paving the way for the success of his younger brother, Stevie Ray Vaughan.

Jimmie helped TTB out on the Mel London-penned, 1960 Junior Wells hit “Little By Little,” which featured Buddy Guy. Vocalist/guitarist Susan Tedeschi included the blues standard on her 1998 solo album, Just Won’t Burn, and led the ensemble through the song with Jimmie handling complimentary licks. Vaughan would take the first ride, showing off his knowledge of the blues but also his one signature style. Susan then tore into the tune on guitar before bringing the song home with her powerful vocals.

Following Jimmie’s departure, TTB delivered two more I Am The Moon songs, “Hear My Dear” and “Fall In.” The band then turned to classic material with the title track to their 2013 album, Made Up Mind, and the favorite “Midnight In Harlem,” which began with Trucks touching on The Allman Brothers Band’s “Little Martha.” Susan and Derek then welcomed another Austin blues fixture, Canadian-born guitarist Sue Foley, who also worked with Antone. Sue added her expertise on a covers medley of Sleepy John Estes’ “Leavin’ Trunk” and Roland Kirk’s “Volunteered Slavery.”

The title track to Just Won’t Burn counted as the penultimate song of the second set ahead of TTB’s “I Want More” and Santana’s “Soul Sacrifice” to cap the frame. Tedeschi Trucks Band returned to encore with The Coasters’ “Let’s Go Get Stoned.”

Watch TTB welcome Jimmie Vaughan for “Little By Little” and more video from Sunday’s show below:

Khang Tran (See 4 videos)
Tedeschi Trucks Band (See 298 videos) and Jimmie Vaughan (See 7 videos)

Khang Tran (See 4 videos)
Tedeschi Trucks Band (See 298 videos)

Khang Tran (See 4 videos)
Tedeschi Trucks Band (See 298 videos)

Khang Tran (See 4 videos)
Tedeschi Trucks Band (See 298 videos)

Loading tour dates


Tedeschi Trucks Band
  • Playing With My Emotions
  • Ain't That Something
  • Bell Bottom Blues
  • Let Me Get By
  • Everybody's Got to Change Sometime
  • Yes We Will
  • Circles 'Round the Sun
  • Pasaquan
  • I Can't Make You Love Me
  • Little by Little
  • Hear My Dear
  • Fall In
  • Part of Me
  • Made Up Mind
  • Midnight in Harlem
  • Leaving Trunk
  • Volunteered Slavery
  • Just Won't Burn
  • I Want More
  • Soul Sacrifice
  • Let's Go Get Stoned
Setlist data
JamBase Collections