Tedeschi Trucks Band Goes Acoustic & Dusts Off Cowboy Cover In Washington D.C.


Tedeschi Trucks Band kicked off the second weekend of two-night stands at the Warner Theatre in Washington D.C. on Friday night. TTB treated the nation’s capital to an acoustic section to begin the second set during which they busted out a Cowboy cover.

The band got things underway with “Don’t Let Me Slide” from their 2011 album Revelator. Derek Trucks then played the opening guitar strains to “Laugh About It” from 2016’s Let Me Get By with Susan Tedeschi getting everyone’s hands in the air and Trucks launching into his usual mind-blowing slide work, trading licks with keyboardist Gabe Dixon on the Hammond organ. “They Don’t Shine” and “Right On Time” came next ahead of a “Derek” section with the Derek Trucks Band number “Get What You Deserve” and Derek And The Dominos’ “Keep On Growing.” “Until You Remember” and “Learn How To Love” followed before the set closer, a cover of Dan Penn’s “Sweet Inspiration.”

The acoustic set started off with “Calling Out To You” from TTB’s 2013 album Made Up Mind. The band then got into the gospel traditional “Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning,” which features a great call and response between Susan and vocalists Mike Mattison, Mark Rivers and Alecia Chakour as well as some acoustic slide from Trucks. TTB then dusted off a cover of Cowboy’s “All My Friends” for the first time since 2018, when the song made its only TTB appearance since 2010 as per Setlist.fm. The song’s connection to the band stretches back to Gregg Allman including the tune on his 1973 solo album Laid Back. TTB brought the acoustic set to a close with the blues classic “It Hurts Me Too,” which saw Susan showing off her guitar chops.


The band would “plug back in” and continue with Dr. John’s “I Walk On Guilded Splinters” followed by “Part Of Me.” TTB then headed into Bob Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright,” a song that has been in Tedeschi’s repertoire for years since including it on her 2002 album Wait For Me. After a drum section, “Let Me Get By” and Charles Segar’s “Key To The Highway” came next before the classic pairing of “The Storm” — which featured a wild, enraptured solo from Trucks — and the Allman Brothers’ “Whipping Post” brought the second set to a fiery close. Tedeschi Trucks Band would encore with “Made Up Mind.”

Watch video from most of both sets captured by Stevie Combs and more below:

Set One

Set Two


Laugh About It via Lary Chinowsky


It Hurts Me Too via Lary Chinowsky

The Storm Solo via Lary Chinowsky


Tedeschi Trucks Band at Warner Theatre

Set 1
  • Don't Let Me Slide
  • Laugh About It
  • They Don't Shine
  • Right on Time
  • Get What You Deserve  
  • Keep On Growing  
  • Until You Remember
  • Learn How to Love
  • Sweet Inspiration  
Set 2 - Acoustic
  • Calling Out to You
  • Keep Your Lamp Trimmed and Burning  
  • All My Friends  
  • It Hurts Me Too  
Set 2- Electric
  • I Walk on Guilded Splinters  
  • Part of Me
  • Don't Think Twice, It's All Right  
  • Drums
  • Let Me Get By
  • Key to the Highway  
  • The Storm
  • Whipping Post  
  • Made Up Mind