Swamp Dogg Announces New Album ‘I Need A Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune’ & Shares Single

Hear 'In Need A Job' lead single, "Soul To Blessed Soul."

By Nate Todd Jan 10, 2022 11:56 am PST

Swamp Dogg, the project of veteran soul and R&B artist Jerry Williams, will issue a new album, I Need A Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune, via Don Giovanni Records on February 25. Swamp Dogg also shared the LP’s lead single, “Soul To Blessed Soul.”

Williams’ seven-decade career began when he made his first recording in 1954 at 12 as Little Jerry Williams and went on to have success in the ‘60s with singles “I’m the Lover Man” and “Baby You’re My Everything” along with writing and producing for artists like Patti LaBelle, Dee Dee Warwick, Doris Duke and more. Williams adopted the Swamp Dogg moniker in 1970 and released his cult classic psychedelic soul album, Total Destruction to Your Mind, that same year.

Fifty-plus years later and Swamp Dogg is still going strong, recently releasing the albums Love, Loss, and Auto-Tune (2018) and Sorry You Couldn’t Make It (2020) ahead of the forthcoming I Need A Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune. Press materials for I Need A Job detailed the new album further:

At 78, Swamp Dogg is as sharp of a singer and songwriter as ever. His raunchy yet charismatic sense of humor takes a more forward role on I Need a Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune, with earnestly delivered lyrics about all day sex and an entire song dedicated to the perils of “Cheating in the Daylight.” Many of the record’s most charming moments emerge from the juxtaposition of Swamp’s left field humor with genuine messages of love, such as “She Got That Fire”, which weaves descriptions of imagined sex acts, including but not limited to an encounter involving edible underwear, in between relatively wholesome proclamations like “she must be an angel on earth,” and “when she looks at you, it’s like sunshine from her eyes.” I Need a Job… does more than prove that Swamp’s still got it, it proves he’s still getting better.

I Need A Job lead single, “Soul To Blessed Soul,” features renowned blues artist Guitar Shorty. “Swamp Dogg is at his most earnest on lead single ‘Soul to Blessed Soul,’” the press release noted. “The song is a wholesome yet triumphant tune about the divine power of love.”

Preview I Need A Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune with “Soul To Blessed Soul” below:

I Need A Job… So I Can Buy More Autotune Tracklist:

  1. I Need A Job
  2. Cheating In The Daylight
  3. Soul To Blessed Soul
  4. She Got That Fire
  5. I Need Your Body
  6. Darlin’ Darlin’ Darlin’
  7. Full-Time Woman
  8. Cheating All Over Again
  9. Show Me

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections