Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings Announce Holiday Album


Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings have announced the upcoming release of their first holiday LP, entitled It’s a Holiday Soul Party. The new album will be issued by Daptone Records on October 30.

The 11-song collection blends traditional carols with new original songs. Pre-orders are currently available and come with free downloads of originals “Ain’t No Chimneys in the Projects” and “Big Bulbs.”

“It’s so great to put out a holiday record after almost twenty years, and it is thrilling to share a Hanukkah soul song,” Jones told Billboard. “I was able to portray my gospel upbringing on the piano, and the Dap-Kings added their soulful flavor to old classics and a few original songs.”

It was announced yesterday that the Toronto International Film Festival would debut a new documentary film about Jones directed by Barbara Kopple, Miss Sharon Jones!, at the event next month.

It’s a Holiday Soul Party Tracklist

  1. 8 Days (Of Hanukkah)
  2. Ain’t No Chimneys in the Projects
  3. White Christmas
  4. Just Another Christmas Song
  5. Silent Night
  6. Big Bulbs
  7. Please Come Home For Christmas
  8. Funky Little Drummer Boy
  9. Silver Bells
  10. World Of Love
  11. God Rest Ye Merry Gents
  12. [Hat tip – Billboard]