[UPDATED] Ryan Adams Announces New Album ‘Prisoner’ & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn Dec 7, 2016 10:50 am PST


  • Dec 7, 2016 • 10:50 am PST

    The tracklist for Prisoner as well as an interview with Ryan Adams regarding the new album has surfaced. View them both below.

Singer-songwriter Ryan Adams will release a new studio album Prisoner through Pax AM/Blue Note Records on February 17. Adams shared the first single from his 16th studio LP, the track “Do You Still Love Me?”

Adams issued a studio album last year that was a complete cover of Taylor Swift’s album 1989. Prior to that he released a self-titled collection of originals in 2014. In recent weeks Adams revealed Prisoner, which was thought to be coming out last month, was inspired in part by Bruce Hornsby’s work in the 1980s.

Adams just performed a pair of concerts in Sydney, Australia with a supporting band featuring guitarist Benny Yurco (of Grace Potter & The Nocturnals), drummer Nate Lotz, keyboardist Ben Alleman and bassist Charlie Stavish. Recent social media updates have shown Adams in the studio with those musicians. Sunday’s surprise gig reportedly featured the group playing the new record and Monday’s concert saw the band perform new songs such as “Outbound Train,” “Prisoner,” “Doomsday,” “I Just Might,” “Breakdown,” “To Be Without You,” “Haunted House,” “Tightrope,” “Anything I Say To You Now” and the single “Do You Still Love Me?”

Here’s what Adams told “feline talk show host” Lil BUB about Prisoner:

I was reflecting on the different states of desire and what it means to be a prisoner of your own desire. I felt like I had been robbed of… the most valuable thing in a person’s life … Time.

Whatever was going on in me was strong enough that I only had to sit down and this stuff just made itself known.

Watch the interview with Lil BUB here:

Give a listen to first single off Prisoner here:

Prisoner Tracklist

  1. Do You Still Love Me?
  2. Prisoner
  3. Doomsday
  4. Haunted House
  5. Shiver and Shake
  6. To Be Without You
  7. Anything I Say To You Now
  8. Breakdown
  9. Outbound Train
  10. Broken Anyway
  11. Tightrope
  12. We Disappear
JamBase Collections