Record Store Day Unveils Full List Of 2018 Releases


As reported, Phish will issue Billy Breathes on vinyl and Jerry Garcia’s Run For The Roses is coming to vinyl this Record Store Day (Saturday, April 21). The full list of Record Store Day special releases has been unveiled and includes releases from the Grateful Dead, David Bowie, Frank Zappa, Arcade Fire, Gov’t Mule, Led Zeppelin, Prince, the Chris Robinson Brotherhood, Trampled By Turtles, Neil Young, the Allman Brothers Band, Wilco and many more.

The Grateful Dead will issue 6,700 copies of their February 27, 1969 show at Fillmore West in San Francisco on vinyl. GD drummer Mickey Hart released RAMU last year and the LP will be available on vinyl this Record Store Day. Gov’t Mule will put out 2,000 copies of Girl With No Self-Esteem, a 12″ vinyl featuring two previously unreleased tracks from the Revolution Come…Revolution Go sessions, while Arcade Fire will release 3,000 copies of EP, a 2003 album that preceded Funeral, on vinyl for the first time.

David Bowie’s camp is unveiling three special releases on Record Store Day. A rare 1977 U.S. compilation LP Bowie Now is coming out on white vinyl; Welcome To The Blackout (Live In London ’78) is a previously unreleased 3LP set recorded live at Earls Court in London on June 30 and July 1, 1978; while the first appearance of the full length “Let’s Dance” demo will be available on 12″ vinyl.

Jimmy Page has mined the Led Zeppelin vault to produce two previously unreleased tracks as the “Friends”/”Rock & Roll” 7″ vinyl. As for Prince, The Purple One’s seven-track, single LP version of 1999 has been unavailable on vinyl for 35 years and that will change on Record Store Day. The Chris Robinson Brotherhood are going the live release route by unveiling Raven’s Reels – Knoxville on vinyl featuring the band’s September 24, 2017 performance at the Bijou Theater. Then there’s Trampled By Turtles, who recorded a cover of Tom Petty’s “Wildflowers” that will front a 7″ vinyl with a track from their forthcoming LP on the back, while Wilco will issue 5,000 copies of their November 12, 1996 set at the Troubadour in Hollywood on vinyl. As for Frank Zappa, the Zappa Family Trust will unveil 4,000 copies of Lumpy Gravy: Primordial containing FZ’s first orchestral-only edit of the music sessions recorded at Capitol Studios during 1967.

Neil Young is set to release 7,500 copies of his forthcoming Tonight’s The Night Live At The Roxy on vinyl this Record Store Day featuring the first live performance of Tonight’s The Night, which was played at Los Angeles’ Roxy Theatre in 1973. Another Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame act, the Allman Brothers Band, are issuing 3,000 copies of the group’s July 3 and 5, 1970 sets at the Atlanta Pop Festival on vinyl.

Also of note, a recording of the “Speak Out” set from last summer’s Newport Folk Festival will be released on vinyl. The album features performances of protest songs from Beau Bedford, the Berklee Gospel and Roots Choir, Billy Bragg, Jim James, Kevin Clark, Kyle Craft, Lucius, Margo Price, Nathaniel Rateliff, Nick Offerman, Olivia Chaney, Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Rayland Baxter, Shakey Graves, Sharon Van Etten, Stephanie Hunt, Zach Williams and a house band made of Carl Broemel, Casey Neill, Chris Funk, Jenny Conlee, John Moen, Nate Query and Patrick Hallahan.

The full list can be viewed or downloaded via

[Record Store Day Ambassadors – Run The Jewels]