Phish To Release ‘Billy Breathes’ On Vinyl For Record Store Day


On October 15, 1996 Phish issued Billy Breathes, their sixth studio album. Today, the quartet has announced they will release the LP on vinyl for the first time this Record Store Day (Saturday, April 21).

Billy Breathes will be available at select independent record stores across the country as a limited (individually foil numbered out of 7,500) 180g 2-LP vinyl set. Chris Bellman of Bernie Grundman Mastering cut the lacquers from the Digital Audio Tape flat master for the vinyl edition. Each LP will include a free MP3 download of the album transferred from the vinyl.

Phish recorded Billy Breathes in 1996 at Bearsville Studio. The band co-produced the LP with Steve Lillywhite. “Free,” “Character Zero,” “Taste,” “Theme From The Bottom,” and “Prince Caspian” are among the songs from Billy Breathes that immediately became live staples and remain so through the present.

Billy Breathes 2-LP Vinyl Edition

Side A

  • Free (3:49)
  • Character Zero (4:00)
  • Waste (4:50)
  • Taste (4:07)

Side B

  • Cars Trucks Buses (2:25)
  • Talk (3:09)
  • Theme From The Bottom (6:22)

Side C

  • Train Song (2:33)
  • Bliss (2:03)
  • Billy Breathes (5:31)
  • Swept Away (1:16)
  • Steep (1:37)
  • Prince Caspian (5:19)

Tour Dates for