New Prince Album ‘Originals’ Features Unreleased Demos

By Andy Kahn Apr 25, 2019 6:48 am PDT

A posthumous new Prince album, Originals, will be issued by Warner Bros. Records and TIDAL this year. The 15-track album features 14 previously unreleased recordings of songs that Prince wrote, which were recorded by other musicians. The tracks on Originals were chosen by Jay-Z and, on behalf of The Prince Estate, Troy Carter.

Sourced from Prince’s vault of archival recordings, Originals features Prince’s demos of songs recorded by Kenny Rogers, The Bangles, Sheila E., The Time, Vanity 6, Apollonia 6, Jill Jones, Martika, The Family, Taja Sevelle and Mazarati. Among the demos are “The Glamorous Life” that became a hit for Sheila E., “Manic Monday” that The Bangles popularized and the previously released 1984 recording of “Nothing Compares 2 U.”

TIDAL will begin exclusively streaming Originals on June 7. Warner Bros. Records will release the album to all streaming and download platforms and in CD format on June 21. A 180 gram 2LP and a limited deluxe CD+2LP edition of Originals comes out on July 19. Pre-order here.

Originals Tracklist

  1. Sex Shooter
  2. Jungle Love
  3. Manic Monday
  4. Noon Rendezvous
  5. Make-Up
  6. 100 MPH
  7. You’re My Love
  8. Holly Rock
  9. Baby, You’re a Trip
  10. The Glamorous Life
  11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too
  12. Love… Thy Will Be Done
  13. Dear Michaelangelo
  14. Wouldn’t You Love to Love Me?
  15. Nothing Compares 2 U
JamBase Collections