Prince Estate Announces ‘Piano & A Microphone 1983’ Album & Shares Single


On what would have been Prince’s 60th birthday today, the beloved late musician’s estate has confirmed the upcoming release of a posthumous album. The new record, Piano & A Microphone, will be issued on September 21 and features the lead single “Mary Don’t You Weep.”

As the title suggests, Piano & A Microphone 1983 showcases a solo rehearsal session Prince recorded in 1983 at his Paisley Park facility in Chanhassen, Minnesota. The album presents 9 live tracks of The Purple One’s solo piano arrangements of “Purple Rain” (prior to its 1984 release), “International Lover,” “17 Days,” “Strange Relationship,” a cover of “A Case of You” by Joni Mitchell and others.

The album is available to pre-order here. Stream “Mary Don’t You Weep” here:

Piano & A Microphone 1983 Tracklist

  1. 17 Days
  2. Purple Rain
  3. A Case Of You
  4. Mary Don’t You Weep
  5. Strange Relationship
  6. International Lover
  7. Wednesday
  8. Cold Coffee & Cocaine
  9. Why The Butterflies