Portugal. The Man Announces ‘Oregon City Sessions’ 2008 Live Album & Shares Single

By Scott Bernstein Mar 24, 2021 7:43 am PDT

Portugal. The Man had been a band for just two years in December of 2008 when they followed a tour by recording “the culmination of what their live performance had become” at a studio in Portland, Oregon. The resulting live album will finally be released as Oregon City Sessions digitally on April 16 with physical versions due on June 11 via Approaching AIRBalloons/Secretly Distribution. P. TM shared video featuring “The Devil” as a preview of the 15-track LP.

The group — which at the time consisted of John Baldwin Gourley, Zachary Scott Carothers, Ryan Neighbors and Garrett Lunceford — ran through their live set once for the performance captured on Oregon City Sessions. No re-takes or overdubs were included giving listeners a chance to hear a snapshot of where Portugal. The Man was at in December 2008 before they became festival headliners, won awards and sold millions of records.

“The first few years of PTM were whirlwind,” Gourley explained. “We didn’t have a place to live so we were pretty much either recording or touring. We were so wide-eyed coming out of Alaska that every day was an exciting new adventure. I think you can see it in our playing.”

Portugal. The Man went on to record The Satanic Satanist just a few weeks later leading the band to put off releasing Oregon City Sessions. Now that P.TM have been off the road since the pandemic began, the group decided the time was right to unleash the “live album.”

Watch Portugal. The Man’s video for Oregon City Sessions track “The Devil” below:

Oregon City Sessions Tracklist

  1. Church Mouth
  2. Horse Warming Party
  3. New Orleans
  4. Bellies Are Full
  5. 1989
  6. My Mind
  7. Lay Me Back Down
  8. Chicago
  9. And I
  10. The Devil
  11. AKA M80 The Wolf
  12. Colors
  13. March With 6
  14. Tommy
  15. Helter Skelter
JamBase Collections