Old 97’s Announce New Album ‘Twelfth’ & Share Single

By Andy Kahn Jun 24, 2020 7:47 am PDT

Old 97’s announced the release of their new studio album, Twelfth, through ATO Records on August 21. The Dallas-born band shared the lead single off their aptly titled 12th album, “Turn Off The TV.”

Frontman Rhett Miller was joined by his longtime band mates drummer Philip Peeples, guitarist Ken Bethea and bassist Murry Hammond for recording sessions held at Sputnik Sound in Nashville. Produced by Vance Powell, the sessions began just as tornadoes caused severe damage and casualties in the Nashville area. The resulting 12-track album contains 10 Miller originals and a pair written and sung by Hammond.

Recent events in the band member’s lives informed the new record, including Miller’s sobriety and Peeples and Bethea dealing with health issues. The cover art of the follow-up to 2017’s Graveyard Whistling features a photo of former Dallas Cowboys quarterback Roger Staubach as an homage to Miller’s childhood idol (who wore number 12) and to the band’s 27 years as professional musicians.

“We experienced some close calls over the last few years and I think that led us to this dawning realization of the fragility of it all,” Miller said. “At the same time, it also led us to this increased gratitude for the music and the brotherhood we’ve been so lucky to share. I think all of that combined to make recording this album one of the most intensely joyful experiences we’ve ever had as a band.”

Directed by Liam Lynch and featuring Puddles The Clown and archival footage of the Old 97’s, the “Turn Off The TV” video can be viewed below:

Twelfth Tracklist

  1. The Dropouts
  2. This House Got Ghosts
  3. Turn Off The TV
  4. I Like You Better
  5. Happy Hour
  6. Belmont Hotel
  7. Confessional Boxing
  8. Diamonds on Neptune
  9. Our Year
  10. Bottle Rocket Baby
  11. Absence (What We’ve Got)
  12. Why Don’t We Ever Say We’re Sorry
JamBase Collections