of Montreal Announces New Album ‘UR FUN’ & Early-2020 Tour, Shares Single

By Nate Todd Nov 14, 2019 12:24 pm PST

Big news came from the of Montreal camp today. The Kevin Barnes-fronted project will release a new album, UR FUN, on January 17 via Polyvinyl Record Co. Barnes previewed the new record with the single “Peace To All Freaks.” of Montreal will also hit the road around the LP beginning in winter 2020 with support from Lily’s Band, Lily and Horn Horse and .

The tour kicks off on February 26 in Barnes’ native Athens, Georgia. After a run through mid-Atlantic cities including Washington D.C., the tour will head north to Providence, Rhode Island ahead of concerts in Boston, New York and Philadelphia. Following a show in Pittsburgh, the tour will swing through the Midwest, including dates in Cleveland, Minneapolis, Chicago and Cincinnati.

After engagements in Nashville, Memphis and St. Louis, the tour heads to the West Coast via Denver and Salt Lake City. Beginning in Seattle, of Montreal will work its way down the coast including stops in the Bay Area and Los Angeles. The tour will then head back east through the Southwest with the tour wrapping up in New Orleans on April 12.

While Barnes has worked with collaborators and a revolving door of band members in the past, he decided to record UR FUN solo — save for a contribution from Locate S,1 — in his Athens studio. For the new record, Barnes drew inspiration from albums like Cyndi Lauper’s She’s So Unusual and Janet Jackson’s Control. Check out UR FUN’s opening track “Peace To All Freaks” below:

UR FUN Tracklist:

  1. Peace To All Freaks
  2. Polyaneurism
  3. Get God’s Attention By Being An Atheist
  4. Gypsy That Remains (Featuring Locate S,1)
  5. You’ve Had Me Everywhere
  6. Carmillas Of Love
  7. Don’t Let Me Die In America
  8. St. Sebastian
  9. Deliberate Self-Harm Ha Ha
  10. 20th Century Schizofriendic Revengoid-man

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections