Nicki Bluhm Shares Ryan Adams Collaboration ‘Battlechain Rose’

By Scott Bernstein May 25, 2018 10:44 am PDT

Singer-songwriter Nicki Bluhm will issue a new solo album entitled To Rise You Gotta Fall via Compass Records on June 1. Bluhm shared video for the album’s second track, “Battlechain Rose.”

Nicki Bluhm co-wrote “Battlechain Rose” with Ryan Adams. The pair first came together for a set at the 2016 Telluride Bluegrass Festival that also featured The Infamous Stringdusters. Ryan, Nicki and The Infamous Stringdusters went on to perform “Oh My Sweet Carolina” for The Late Show With Stephen Colbert and also played the Newport Folk Festival later that summer.

“Hoping to wake from a nightmare and realizing I had not yet found sleep, ‘Battlechain Rose’ came on a restless night when the wheels of my mind wouldn’t stop turning,” Nicki told American Songwriter. “Steeped in disbelief of my own reality, I could find no peace, only time to pass. I scribbled down my thoughts and visions on a scrap of paper upon the nightstand, and finally, the relief of sleep came.” The next day Nicki fielded a call from Ryan Adams who wound up contributing “some beautiful imagery and phrasing” to “Battlechain Rose.”

Watch the Scot Sax-directed video for “Battlechain Rose”:

Nicki Bluhm’s To Rise You Gotta Fall comes after her move from San Francisco to Tennessee and deals with a tough time in her life that included a divorce. She recorded the 11-track album with producer Matt Ross-Spang at the historic Sam Phillips Recording in Memphis featuring a studio band that included keyboardists Al Gamble and Rick Steff, drummer Ken Coomer, bassist Dave Smith and guitarist Will Sexton. The album is currently available for pre-order here.

Check out the video for the title track:

To Rise You Gotta Fall Tracklist

  1. How Do I Love You
  2. Battlechain Rose
  3. To Rise You Gotta Fall
  4. Staring At The Sun
  5. Something Really Mean
  6. I Hate You
  7. Can’t Fool The Fool
  8. Things I’ve Done
  9. You Stopped Loving Me
  10. It’s Ok Not To Be Ok
  11. Last To Know

[via American Songwriter]

Loading band summary

JamBase Collections