New Jimi Hendrix Album Includes 10 Previously Unreleased Recordings


Experience Hendrix and Legacy Recordings will issue a new Jimi Hendrix studio album, Both Sides Of The Sky, on March 9. The 13-song collection features 10 never before released recordings made by the late legendary guitarist between January 1968 and February 1970.

Marking the third installment of posthumously issued, previously unreleased recordings made by Hendrix, Both Sides Of The Sky follows 2013’s People, Hell And Angels and 2010’s Beginning With Valleys of Neptune. The latest release was co-produced by John McDermott, and Janie Hendrix, as well as Eddie Kramer who engineered every Hendrix album recorded prior to the guitarist’s death on September 18, 1970.

“Since Experience Hendrix began its restoration of the Jimi Hendrix music catalog in 1997, our goal has been to present these important recordings to Jimi’s fans in the best possible quality,” McDermott stated. “We are excited about achieving that. We’ve also been intent on generating album releases which present this amazing music in its proper context.”

The record prominently features the Band of Gypsys featuring bassist Billy CoxBuddy Miles, including a previously unheard take on Muddy Waters’ “Mannish Boy.” Original Jimi Hendrix Experience members, drummer Mitch Mitchell and bassist Noel Redding, appear on previously unreleased April 1969 recordings of “Stepping Stone,” “Jungle,” “Cherokee Mist” and a recording of “Sweet Angel” from January 1968. Other musicians appearing on Both Sides Of The Sky include Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter, Duane Hitchings, Dallas Taylor and Hendrix’s former Curtis Knight & The Squires band mate Lonnie Youngblood.

Both Sides Of The Sky Tracklist

  1. Mannish Boy*
  2. Lover Man*
  3. Hear My Train A Comin’*
  4. Stepping Stone*
  5. $20 Fine*+
  6. Power Of Soul^
  7. Jungle*
  8. Things I Used to Do#
  9. Georgia Blues++
  10. Sweet Angel*
  11. Woodstock*+
  12. Send My Love To Linda*
  13. Cherokee Mist*
  • *Previously unreleased
  • ^ Previously unavailable extended version
  • +Featuring Stephen Stills
  • #Featuring Johnny Winter
  • ++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood