Nathaniel Rateliff And The Night Sweats Announce New Brad Cook-Produced Album ‘South Of Here’ & Share Single

Listen to the album’s first single, “Heartless.”

By Scott Bernstein Apr 19, 2024 9:29 am PDT

Nathaniel Rateliff & the Night Sweats detailed their fourth studio album, South of Here, which arrives via Stax on June 28. The powerhouse octet previewed the 11-song effort by releasing its lead single, “Heartless.”

The follow-up to 2021’s The Future was produced by Brad Cook (Waxahatchee, Bon Iver, Kevin Morby). Nathaniel Rateliff and The Night Sweats decamped with Brad Cook to Sonic Ranch outside El Paso to record South of Here.


Nathaniel Rateliff wrote all 11 original cuts featured on South of Here. Rateliff is joined in The Night Sweats by Luke Mossman, Joseph Pope III, Mark Shusterman, Patrick Meese, Daniel Hardaway, Jeff Dazey and Andreas Wild. Rateliff bared his soul in penning the personal tracks that Cook captured at Sonic Ranch.

“Brad was a great producer to write alongside. This album is a look into my own struggle with anxiety, insecurity and also stories of my life. He encouraged me to take responsibility for my own narrative in the songs and to write about what’s happening in my own life,” explained Rateliff. “These recordings were done together in a room with my closest friends. I hope these songs and stories give you an opportunity to better understand your own struggles whatever they may be.”

Stream Nathaniel Rateliff and The Night Sweats’ “Heartless” below:

Nathaniel Rateliff and The Night Sweats will mix festival appearances and shows in the U.S, UK and Europe from May through July. A co-headline tour with My Morning Jacket is planned for September. View all dates below.

Loading tour dates


South Of Here Tracklist

  1. David and Goliath
  2. Heartless
  3. Remember I Was a Dancer
  4. Get Used to the Night
  5. South of Here
  6. Everybody Wants Something
  7. Center of Me
  8. Cars in the Desert
  9. I Would Like to Heal
  10. Call Me (Whatever You Like)
  11. Time Makes Fools of Us All
JamBase Collections