Mickey Hart Announces New Solo Album & Shares Singles Featuring Avey Tare & Tank


Grateful Dead drummer Mickey Hart will soon issue a new solo album entitled RAMU. Due November 10 through Verve Forecast, the record includes the single “Wayward Son” featuring Animal Collective’s Avey Tare and “Big Bad Wolf” featuring Tank of Tank and The Bangas.

The 12-track album was recorded with co-producer Michal Menert at Hart’s Studio X in California. Mickey was joined during the recording sessions by his Dead & Company band mate Oteil Burbridge on bass, longtime collaborators Zakir Hussain on tabla, Sikiru Adepoju on talking drum and Giovanni Hidalgo on congas, along with guitarist Steve Kimock, renowned saxophonist Charles Lloyd and The String Cheese Incident percussionist Jason Hann.

“[President Donald Trump] is a great inspiration — every time I think of him, I write things,” Hart told Pitchfork. “I can’t tell you how loud I’m screaming and, as a musician, this is how we scream — to shine light on things that are dark, and shine some understanding on life and this horrible human being leading our country.”

Animal Collective previously issued the single “What Would I Want Sky?” featuring the first officially licensed Grateful Dead sample (“Unbroken Chain”). Along with Avey Tare, RAMU (which takes is title from Hart’s Random Access Musical Universe database) also features contributions from Tank and the Bangas frontwoman Tarriona “Tank” Ball, recordings from the late Babatunde Olatunji and Hart’s Grateful Dead band mate Jerry Garcia, as well as unreleased field recordings made by Alan Lomax.

Pitchfork premiered “Wayward Son” featuring Avey Tare and “Big Bad Wolf” featuring Tank. Stream the pair of singles below:

[Wayward Son]

[Big Bad Wolf]

RAMU Tracklist

  1. Auctioneers
  2. Wayward Son
  3. Big Bag Wolf
  4. The Lost Coast
  5. Who Do You Think You Are
  6. You Remind Me
  7. When the Morning Comes
  8. Jerry
  9. Wine Wine Wine
  10. Nacare
  11. Spreading the News
  12. Infinite Space

Tour Dates for Mickey Hart