Matador! Soul Sounds Announce Debut Album ‘Get Ready’ & Share Singles


The newly established Matador! Soul Sounds will issue their debut album Get Ready on March 12. The band shared the singles “Too Late” and “Get Ready” in advance of the record’s upcoming release.

Matador! Soul Sounds consists of guitarist Eddie Roberts of The New Mastersounds, drummer Alan Evans of Soulive, keyboardist Chris Spies, bassist Kevin Scott and vocalists Kimberly Dawson of Pimps of Joytime and Adryon de León of Orgone. Starting with “Too Late,” as well as the title track and it’s B-side “Mr. Handsome,” a new song from the album will be made available on a week-by-week basis for the next six weeks leading up to the record’s release.

“The idea [for the band] came about one night while we were drinking wine in a bar in D.C. when I turned to Alan and asked ‘can we start a band together?’,” said Roberts. “Alan obviously shared the same sentiment as here we are today launching the debut album!”

Here’s background on the collective’s name “that encompassed both of their identities and musical inspirations”:

The naming of the band came about during Eddie and Alan’s Grant Green tribute shows. Both of them liked the Grant Green album Matador!, and all that it evoked. Matador! Soul Sounds is a band loosely based on the concept of traditional Spanish bullfighting. However, a common misconception in America is that bullfighting is a feat of one man versus one bull. In reality, bullfighting is largely a team effort by a matador and his cuadrilla – which is the theme that showcases the all-star lineup behind this original band.

Follow this link to pre-order Get Ready. Check out “Get Ready” and “Mr. Handsome” below:

Here’s “Too Late” via Atwood Magazine:

Tour Dates for Matador! Soul Sounds