Lake Street Dive Announces New Album, Shares Single & Confirms Tour Dates

Boston rock-soul quartet Lake Street Dive will issue Free Yourself Up, their second album with Nonesuch Records, on May 4. The band will kick off a World Tour in the Boston on May 4 and have shared a video for a track off the LP.

Lake Street Dive self-produced Free Yourself Up at Goosehead Palace Studios in Nashville with engineer Dan Knobler. “To Lake Street Dive, the title, Free Yourself Up, is both an exhortation to listeners and a statement of purpose for the band. In many ways, this is the band’s most intimate and collaborative record, with the band working as a tightly knit unit to craft its ten songs. For this album, the quartet drafted touring keyboardist Akie Bermiss to join them in the studio as well as on stage. Adding another player to the process freed up the band members to explore a wider range of instrumental textures, construct more full-bodied arrangements, and build on their well-known background harmonies,” said the band in a statement issued today.

“This album is based in the realities in our time,” bassist Bridget Kearney reflects, “which have inevitably become part of everyone’s daily life. It’s something you think about and obsess over — and write songs about. Free Yourself Up is about empowering yourself, emboldening yourself, no matter what’s going wrong.”

Watch a live performance of Free Yourself Up track “Good Kisser”:

On May 4, Lake Street Dive will celebrate release day with an intimate concert at The Sinclair in Cambridge. From there, LSD brings the tour to Turners Falls, Kingston, Burlington, New Haven, Brooklyn, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Chicago, St. Paul, Des Moines, St. Louis and Albuquerque. The run continues with stops in Los Angeles, Anaheim, San Francisco, Napa Valley, Vancouver, Seattle and Ogden. Lake Street Dive is also confirmed to appear at jazz festivals in Ottawa, Toronto and Rochester in late June before returning to the Boston area for a performance at this year’s Levitate Festival in Marshfield on July 8. Additionally, the foursome will play Red Rocks in Morrison, Colorado on September 6.

Free Yourself Up Tracklist

  1. Baby Don’t Leave Me Alone With My Thoughts
  2. Good Kisser
  3. Shame, Shame, Shame
  4. I Can Change
  5. Dude
  6. Red Light Kisses
  7. Doesn’t Even Matter Now
  8. You Are Free
  9. Musta Been Something
  10. Hang On
  • Upcoming Shows

Related Articles