La Luz Announces New Album – Weirdo Shrine

Seattle-based surf-doo-wop group La Luz has announced their sophomore album, Weirdo Shrine, which will be issued by Hardly Art on August 7. In conjunction with the album’s announcement, the quartet composed of guitarist Shana Cleveland, drummer Marian Li Pino, keyboardist Alice Sandahl and relative newcomer bassist Lena Simon also shared the first single from Weirdo Shrine, entitled “You Disappear.”

[Photo by Andrew Imanaka. Illustration by Darin Shuler]

For the follow-up to their excellent 2013 debut record It’s Alive, La Luz worked with Ty Segall who engineered and produced the LP recorded primarily at a surf shop in San Dimas, California. To capture the growing sophistication of their live shows honed over a year and a half of extensive touring, much of Weirdo Shrine was recorded live with all four members sharing the same space. Segall describes the record as a “world…burning with colors [he’d] never seen, like mauve that is living.” Stream “You Disappear” from Weirdo Shrine below: