La Luz Announces New Album ‘Floating Features’ & Shares Single

By Andy Kahn Feb 12, 2018 1:19 pm PST

Seattle-based surf-doo-wop group La Luz will issue a new studio album, Floating Features, via Hardly Art on May 11. The quartet also shared the video for the record’s lead single “Cicada.”

The 11-track Floating Features was recorded in Los Angeles. It follows up the band’s previous LPs, 2015’s Ty Segall-produced Weirdo Shrine and their 2013 debut It’s Alive. The group featuring lead vocalist/guitarist Shana Cleveland, drummer Marian Li Pino, keyboardist Alice Sandahl and bassist Lena Simon posted this regarding the effect of their location on their recording sessions:

Los Angeles has often been described as a “dream factory”– both a mecca where dreamers converge to pursue long-held aspirations, and a topography of hallucinogenic contradictions: enchanting tangerine sunsets diffused by smog, crystal-clutching spiritualists mingling with deep-pocketed narcissists, rows of scenic palms competing with garish billboards for commuters’ attention.

Watch the video for the Floating Features lead single “Cicada” below:

Floating Features Tracklist

  1. Floating Features
  2. Cicada
  3. Loose Teeth
  4. Mean Dream
  5. California Finally
  6. The Creature
  7. My Golden One
  8. Lonely Dozer
  9. Greed Machine
  10. Walking Into the Sun
  11. Don’t Leave Me on The Earth
JamBase Collections