Kurt Vile Joins Yo La Tengo On The Cure Cover In Philadelphia


Yo La Tengo brought their tour in support of their newly released studio album There’s A Riot Going On to Philadelphia’s Union Transfer on Saturday evening. The band welcomed local guitarist Kurt Vile to sit-in on a cover by The Cure and a track from the new album.

Yo La Tengo’s first set opened with “You Are Here” from the new record. Fellow album cuts “Forever,” “Ashes” and “She May, She Might” were also chosen for set one, along with earlier originals such as “Is That Enough” and “Black Flowers.”

Vile emerged toward the end of the set to add guitar to “Friday I’m In Love.” Yo La Tengo recorded a version of The Cure hit on their 2015 LP Stuff Like That There. The guest guitarist stuck around for the set-closing take on the There’s A Riot Going On track “Here You Are.”

The second set began with the new LP’s “Dream Dream Away” and after “False Alarm” an additional two songs from the album, “For You Too” and “Shades of Blue” marked the end of the new material for the night. “Five-Cornered Drone (Crispy Duck),” “Autumn Sweater,” “Sugarcube” and “Blue Line Swinger” were among the other second set selections. The encore saw the trio offer covers of “Right Side of My Mind” by Angry Samoans and “Dreaming” by Sun Ra between a requested performance of “Detouring America With Horns.”

Watch audience-shot video footage of Vile with YLT captured by Marcus Slade below:

[Friday I’m In Love]

[Here You Are]


Yo La Tengo at Union Transfer

Set 1
  • You Are Here
  • Forever
  • The Ballad of Red Buckets
  • Ashes
  • She May, She Might
  • Is That Enough
  • Black Flowers
  • Friday I'm in Love  
  • Here You Are
Set 2
  • Dream Dream Away
  • False Alarm
  • For You Too
  • Shades of Blue
  • Five-Cornered Drone (Crispy Duck)
  • Autumn Sweater
  • Shaker
  • Nothing to Hide
  • Sugarcube
  • Blue Line Swinger
  • Right Side of My Mind  
  • Detouring America With Horns  
  • Dreaming  

Tour Dates for
Yo La Tengo

Tour Dates for
Kurt Vile