Jimi Hendrix ‘Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts’ Box Set Features Previously Unreleased Band Of Gypsys Tracks

By Scott Bernstein Oct 1, 2019 8:14 am PDT

Guitarist Jimi Hendrix debuted his Band Of Gypsys project with four concerts at Fillmore East in New York City on December 31, 1969 and January 1, 1970. A new box set entitled Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts featuring over 24 tracks that were previously unreleased or have been newly pressed and mix is due as a 5-CD collection on November 22 and 8-LP vinyl collection on December 13 via Legacy Recordings. A video trailer and audio of “Message Of Love” provide a preview of the set.

Hendrix’s Band Of Gypsys also featured drummer Buddy Miles and bassist Billy Cox. The group released a self-titled live album containing six tracks from their January 1, 1970 concerts in April 1970. While additional tracks were released on such collections as Live At Fillmore East in 1999 and 2016’s Machine Gun, there’s plenty more from the four concerts which will be available for the first time as part of the new box set including takes on “Earth Blues,” “Stepping Stone,” “Foxey Lady,” “Voodoo Child (Slight Return),” “Wild Thing” and “Purple Haze” as well as covers of Howard Tate’s “Stop,” Jimmy Hughes’ “Steal Away” and “Bleeding Heart” by Elmore James.

The music comes with a package filled with previously unseen photos from photographers Amalie Rothschild, Jan Blom and Marc Franklin. In addition, Billy Cox shares a remembrance of the run and author/journalist/filmmaker Nelson George provides liner notes. Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer and John McDermott produced the set, which was mastered by Bernie Grundman.

Watch a trailer for the new set below:

Stream “Message Of Love” from the forthcoming release below:

Songs For Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts 5CD Collection Tracklist

12/31/69 1st Set

Disc One

  1. Power Of Soul
  2. Lover Man
  3. Hear My Train A Comin’
  4. Changes
  5. Izabella
  6. Machine Gun
  7. Stop
  8. Ezy Ryder
  9. Bleeding Heart
  10. Earth Blues
  11. Burning Desire

12/31/69 2nd Set

Disc Two

  1. Auld Lang Syne%
  2. Who Knows%
  3. Fire
  4. Ezy Ryder*
  5. Machine Gun%
  6. Stone Free
  7. Changes*
  8. Message To Love*
  9. Stop*
  10. Foxey Lady

1/1/70 1st Set

Disc Three

  1. Who Knows
  2. Machine Gun
  3. Changes+
  4. Power Of Soul%
  5. Stepping Stone%
  6. Foxey Lady+
  7. Stop%
  8. Earth Blues+
  9. Burning Desire%

1/1/70 2nd Set

Disc Four

  1. Stone Free%
  2. Power Of Soul#
  3. Changes#
  4. Message To Love#
  5. Machine Gun%
  6. Lover Man*
  7. Steal Away*
  8. Earth Blues%

Disc Five

  1. Voodoo Child (Slight Return)%
  2. We Gotta Live Together#
  3. Wild Thing%
  4. Hey Joe*
  5. Purple Haze*
  • *previously unreleased
  • +first time on CD/LP/streaming (previously only available as part of concert film)
  • #longer, unedited versions of previously released material, and newly remixed
  • %back in print on CD/LP for the first time in a decade, and newly remixed
JamBase Collections