Jason Isbell Shares New Single & Discusses Outlaw Music Festival Tour With Willie Nelson & Bob Dylan


On June 16 Jason Isbell and The 400 Unit will release their new album The Nashville Sound through Southeastern Records/Thirty Tigers. Another track has been unveiled from the LP and singer-songwriter Jason Isbell shared his thoughts on the upcoming Outlaw Music Festival Tour taking place this summer with legends Bob Dylan and Willie Nelson.

“Quite proud of this one,” Isbell tweeted today regarding “If We Were Vampires,” which NPR premiered. “I think it’s likely as good as any song I’ve written.”

The emotionally heavy song is one of 10 featured on The Nashville Sound, marking the first Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit billed album since 2011’s Here We Rest. Dave Cobb, who produced Isbell’s solo LPs Southeastern and Something More Than Free, was also enlisted for the new record that features contributions from keyboardist Derry deBorja, drummer Chad Gamble, bassist Jimbo Hart, guitarist Sadler Vaden and Isbell’s wife, fiddler/vocalist Amanda Shires.

Jason Isbell & The 400 Unit have a busy touring schedule planned in support of the new album, including stops on the Outlaw Music Festival Tour with the aforementioned iconic musicians and others. Isbell spoke to Rolling Stone about the upcoming gigs, telling the outlet “It’ll be more of a rock show I think than what we’ve had in the past.”

“It’s like Jesus, Santa Claus and me,” Isbell told Rolling Stone when asked about sharing bills with Nelson and Dylan. “I hate the word ‘surreal,’ but that’s what it is … People can get used to any amount of accolades or any amount of money or success, but you’ll never get used to being around Willie Nelson – and if you do, there’s something wrong with you.”

Below stream “If We Were Vampires” via NPR, followed by previously shared singles “Cumberland Gap” and “Hope The High Road”:

[Cumberland Gap]

[Hope The High Road]

The Nashville Sound Tracklist

  1. Last Of My Kind
  2. Cumberland Gap
  3. Tupelo
  4. White Man’s World
  5. If We Were Vampires
  6. Anxiety
  7. Molotov
  8. Chaos And Clothes
  9. Hope The High Road
  10. Something to Love

Tour Dates for
Jason Isbell