Jake Xerxes Fussell Details New Album ‘When I’m Called’ & Shares Single, Tour Dates

Stream “Going To Georgia” off the guitarist’s new album arriving on July 12.

By Andy Kahn Apr 17, 2024 7:44 am PDT

Guitarist Jake Xerxes Fussell will release a new album, When I’m Called, on July 12. Fussell announced tour dates in support of the album, which marks his debut on the Fat Possum label, and released his interpretation of the traditional song, “Going To Georgia,” as its lead single.

Fussell, a Georgia native residing in North Carolina, once again places his stamp on traditional folk music across the nine tracks on When I’m Called. The album opener, “Andy,” was written in the mid-1980s by multimedia artist Maestro Gaxiola as a tribute to Andy Warhol. Following it is “Cuckoo!,” a song attributed to English composer Benjamin Britten and Jane Taylor, who wrote “Twinkle Twinkle, Little Star.” The remainder of the album consists of songs with rich traditional histories.


“When I was getting really deep into traditional music as a teenager, I tended to see it more in a continuum, like, ‘This is all tied into an ongoing world,’” Fussell stated.

The follow-up to 2022’s Good And Green Again was produced by James Elkington who also played an assortment of instruments. Recorded by Jason Richmond at Fidelitorium Recordings in Kernersville, North Carolina, When I’m Called sees contributions from guitarist Blake Mills, vocalists Joan Shelley and Robin Holcomb, bassist Ben Whiteley and drummer Joe Westerlund. Additionally, horns were played by Anna Jacobson, strings by Jean Cook and woodwinds by Hunter Diamond.

While often drawing upon material from Appalachia and sea shanties, Fussell arranged the songs on the new album before going back to apply source material to the recordings. When I’m Called sees Fussell inspired by his late mentor – 1960s-1970s painter, musician and folklorist Art Rosenbaum who died in September 2022. “Going To Georgia” is one of the songs directly tied to Rosenbaum.

“I learned the traditional song ‘Going To Georgia’ from a few different places so my version is something of a collage,” Fussell said. “There are a number of variants out there. Ralph Stanley played a version of it, as did the great song collector and revivalist/interpreter Paul Clayton. My main source was an early 1980s field recording of The Eller Family of Hiawassee, Georgia, brought to us by artist-documentarians Art and Margo Rosenbaum via their wonderful Folkways anthology Folk Visions & Voices: Traditional Music and Song in Northern Georgia.”

“Going To Georgia” and the rest of the album were mixed by Tucker Martine at his Flora Recordings facility in Portland, Oregon. Listen to Jake Xerxes Fussell’s version of “Going To Georgia” here:


Fussell will embark on an extensive tour in support of When I’m Called. A North American leg begins in May and continues through the summer into July. Fussell then heads to Europe in August and September. Tickets go on sale on Friday, April 19 at 10 a.m. local time. Find tour date information and ticketing links below.

Loading tour dates


When I’m Called Tracklist

  1. Andy
  2. Cuckoo!
  3. Leaving Here, Don’t Know Where I’m Going
  4. Feeing Day
  5. When I’m Called
  6. One Morning in May
  7. Gone to Hilo
  8. Who Killed Poor Robin?
  9. Going to Georgia
JamBase Collections