Jack White Details New Album ‘Boarding House Reach’


Following the release yesterday of a pair of new songs, Jack White today shared details of his forthcoming solo album Boarding House Reach. White’s label Third Man Records will issue the record on March 23 and in addition to upcoming festival headlining appearance, the guitarist will soon announce a full tour in support of the new release.

White on Thursday shared the Boarding House Reach lead track and single “Connected By Love” and B-side “Respect Commander.” The two songs are among the 13 making up the new album, which White produced and recorded in a number of spots including Third Man Studio in Nashville, Sear Sound in New York City and Capitol Studios in Los Angeles.

White recruited a large collective of musicians to contribute to Boarding House Reach. Those appearing on the album include drummers Louis Cato (Beyoncé, Q-Tip, John Legend, Mariah Carey), Daru Jones (Nas, Talib Kweli) and Carla Azar (Autolux, Depeche Mode, Doyle Bramhall II), bassists Charlotte Kemp Muhl (The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and NeonPhoenix (Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Jay-Z), synthesizer players DJ Harrison and Anthony “Brew” Brewster (Fishbone, The Untouchables), keyboardists Neal Evans (Soulive, Talib Kweli, John Scofield) and Quincy McCrary (Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Pitbull), percussionists Bobby Allende (David Byrne) and Justin Porée (Ozomatli) and The McCrary Sisters vocalists Ann McCrary and Regina McCrary and vocalists Esther Rose and C.W. Stoneking.

While many people contributed to recording the White’s new album, a press release states the record was, “Written and conceived while [White was] holed up in a spartan apartment with literally no outside world distractions, White exclusively used the same kind of gear he had when he was 15 years old (a quarter-inch four-track tape recorder, a simple mixer, and the most basic of instrumentation).”

Third Man Records is offering a Boarding House Reach-themed Vault Package #35 subscription edition of the new release. The only limited edition of the album is extensively detailed here.

Watch the “Connected By Love” video:

Check out audio of “Respect Commander” here:

Boarding House Reach Tracklist

  1. Connected By Love
  2. Why Walk A Dog?
  3. Corporation
  4. Abulia and Akrasia
  5. Hypermisophoniac
  6. Ice Station Zebra
  7. Over and Over and Over
  8. Everything You’ve Ever Learned
  9. Respect Commander
  10. Ezmerelda Steals The Show
  11. Get In The Mind Shaft
  12. What’s Done Is Done
  13. Humoresque

Tour Dates for
Jack White