Gov’t Mule Releases ‘Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008’ Live Album

By Nate Todd Dec 18, 2020 10:44 am PST

Gov’t Mule released Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008. The live album is the second in a series of archival digital releases the band has planned.

Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008 follows the first entry in the streaming-only series, Live At The Beacon Theatre, documenting Mule’s 2017 New Year’s Eve concert at the historic New York City venue. Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008 comes from the band’s NYE run that year which saw them performing at the oldest Jewish temple in New York City on December 28.

2008 was the only year since 2002 Gov’t Mule didn’t ring in New Year’s Eve at The Beacon Theatre as the venue was being renovated. The band kicked off their New Year’s Run that year with performances at The Angel Orensanz Center on December 27 and 28, which were followed by shows at NYC’s Hammerstein Ballroom on December 30 and 31. Guitarist Warren Haynes discussed the concerts at The Angel Orensanz Center in a statement. Read his words below:

For the second release of this streaming-only series we find ourselves in Manhattan, where the East Village meets the Lower East Side, for the second of two nights at the oldest Jewish Temple in New York City – what a beautiful and graceful setting. We made the decision to strip down to a minimal approach in order not to overpower the small, very “live” room that holds around 600 people. As is the case with any venue that brings its own sonic personality, we embraced the challenge of playing to the room and choosing songs that would benefit from the ambiance — including a lot of original songs that don’t get played very often mixed in with some of the ones that do, along with some choice covers, many of which we had never played or had only been performed a handful of times. We hope you enjoy this re-mixed version of a truly unique Mule show.

The show features Mule originals and rarities as well as covers from The Beatles, the Grateful Dead, Led Zeppelin, Nirvana and more. Stream Gov’t Mule’s Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008 and checkout a teaser for the live album below:


Live At The Angel Orensanz Center 2008 Tracklist:

    (Set 1)

  1. Love’s Open Door
  2. The Real Thing
  3. In My Life
  4. Dolphineus
  5. Painted Silver Light
  6. Beautifully Broken
  7. Patchwork Quilt
  8. Wild Horses (Rolling Stones cover)
  9. One (U2 cover)
  10. Long Distance Call (Muddy Waters cover)
  11. So Weak, So Strong
  12. Kind Of Bird (Allman Brothers Band cover)
  13. (Set 2)

  14. John The Revelator
  15. When The Levee Breaks (Led Zeppelin cover)
  16. John The Revelator (Reprise)
  17. When The Levee Breaks (Reprise)
  18. A Change Is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke cover)
  19. Fallen Down
  20. The Other One (Grateful Dead cover)
  21. Drums
  22. All Apologies (Nirvana cover)
  23. Endless Parade
  24. You’ve Got To Hide Your Love Away (The Beatles cover)
  25. Soulshine
  26. (Encore)

  27. Hallelujah Boulevard
  28. Goin’ Out West (Tom Waits cover)
JamBase Collections