Exclusive Premiere: Perpetual Groove Unveils ‘Familiar Stare’ EP


I’d like to formally apologize to Perpetual Groove. The quartet aimed to release their new EP Familiar Stare with little fanfare tomorrow, August 16. However, I previewed the masterful four-song collection about a month ago and have have listened to it at least once each day since. Familiar Stare shows a maturity to the four-piece’s sound and an evolution from their jamtronica-heavy days as they’ve put an emphasis on the songs themselves. Familiar Stare is just too good to be unveiled with little fanfare, so today we have the pleasure of premiering the new EP ahead of its official release tomorrow.

Outside of the release of the single “Paper Dolls” last year and “Best Of Anything” earlier this year, Familiar Stare marks the first new batch of PGroove studio recordings featuring the classic lineup of Brock Butler, Matt McDonald, Adam Perry and Albert Suttle since 2007’s LIVELOVEDIE. Tom Lewis produced the four-track effort which was recorded in Athens, Georgia. The EP includes artwork provided by KC Cowan of KC Cowan Designs. One aspect of the EP that struck me immediately were the powerful vocals, both lead and harmony wise. McDonald and Perry’s vocals are strong throughout the effort, especially on one of PGroove’s best songs of the decade – “Holy Ship.”

Other tunes featured on Familiar Stare are the recently debuted “Fall” and “Best Of Anything” as well as a song that dates back over five years, “Lemurs.” PGroove made great use of the studio to present vastly different takes on each song than the live versions. Be sure to keep your eyes on Perpetual Groove’s BandCamp page for full release details tomorrow, August 16. For now, stream the new PGroove EP Familiar Stare and remember to act surprised tomorrow:

Familiar Stare Tracklist

  1. Fall
  2. Best Of Anything
  3. Lemurs
  4. Holy Ship

Tour Dates for
Perpetual Groove