Exclusive Album Premiere: Roots Of Creation’s New Album ‘Livin Free’


On Friday, Roots of Creation will officially release their new album Livin Free via their Bombshelter Records label, distributed by ILS/Caroline/Universal Music Group. JamBase is pleased to present an exclusive full album stream of Livin Free in advance of Friday’s release.

The group’s third studio will be issued as a standard 18-track edition as well as a three-disc deluxe collection with both dub/remix and acoustic versions of 14 of the album’s songs in digital and CD formats. Physical formats, both CD and a limited edition hand-numbered splatter-colored double vinyl of Livin Free will be made available on May 6. Guests appearing on the new album include Melvin Seals, Marshall “Ras MG” Goodman, the Rubblebucket horn section, Billy Kottage, Bill Carbone, Pato Banton and Mighty Mystic, as well as production by the likes of Yeti Beats, Ras MG, Brett Wilson and Pete Peloquin. Roots Of Creation shared the following regarding Livin Free:

We are beyond excited to premiere Livin Free with our friends at JamBase. Since our fans made this album happen with their generous contributions to our PledgeMusic campaign, JamBase is the perfect community of true live music fans to share the album with. Although we made an honest attempt at focusing on putting out our best songs and elevating our production on this record, we still snuck in some jamming at the end of “I’ll Be There” and “Stay With Me.” The instrumental track “Punk RoC” really captures our newfound ska-inspired energy with the horn section blowing to the max. Our version of the Grateful Dead classic “Row Jimmy” gets a lot of love on tour. The crowd always belts out the hook at the end when we drop the reggae/rock beat while channeling the boys the best we can, with stacked harmonies and ballad guitars. We also brought back some songs we have played on the stage but retired to tweak, perfect and finish in the studio like “Searchin’” and “Rubber Bullets.”

The iTunes pre-order for both the standard LP and deluxe editions are currently available via this link. Physical formats will be available via Amazon, the band’s Pledgemusic page and other merchants on May 6. Stream the premiere of the standard edition of Livin Free exclusively below:

Livin Free Tracklist

  1. Get Ready (Ras MG Remix)
  2. Different (feat. Rubblebucket Horns)
  3. 3x A Lady (Yeti Beats Remix)
  4. Oh Lord
  5. Uplift
  6. Struggle (Ras MG Remix)
  7. Rubber Bullets
  8. I’ll Be There
  9. Punk RoC
  10. Searchin’
  11. Policy (feat. Mighty Mystic & Rubblebucket Horns)
  12. Row Jimmy
  13. Stay With Me
  14. Strength
  15. A Time Will Come (feat. Pato Banton)
  16. Struggle (Skankin’ Mix) (feat. Ras MG & Melvin Seals)
  17. Rubber Bullets
  18. Policy (feat. Mighty Mystic & Rubblebucket Horns)

Roots Of Creation are currently touring in support of Livin Free with their next appearance slated for Friday, April 22 at the Move Festival in Albany, New York.

Tour Dates for
Roots of Creation