Eric Clapton Announces New Live Album & Shares Video Single With J.J. Cale & Derek Trucks


Acclaimed guitarist Eric Clapton has announced the upcoming release of a new double live album. The 2-CD/3-LP Live In San Diego With Special Guest J.J. Cale will be released on Reprise/Bushbranch Records on September 30.

Recorded live on March 15, 2007 at iPayOne Center in San Diego, the show saw special guest guitarist, the late great J.J. Cale sit-in on a number of songs. Cale can be heard on cuts from the joint album he and Clapton released in 2006 The Road to Escondido, such as “Anyway the Wind Blows,” “Who Am I Telling You?” and “Don’t Cry Sister.” Cale also assisted on his “After Midnight” and “Cocaine.”

The show that featured a band composed of guitarists Derek Trucks and Doyle Bramhall II, drummer Steve Jordan and others, also saw guitarist Robert Cray sit-in on the closing “Crossroads.” Watch the Cale-assisted rendition of “Anyway The Wind Blows” here:

Live In San Diego With Special Guest J.J. Cale Tracklist

  1. Tell The Truth
  2. Key To The Highway
  3. Got To Get Better In A Little While
  4. Little Wing
  5. Anyday
  6. Anyway The Wind Blows (With J.J. Cale)
  7. After Midnight (With J.J. Cale)
  8. Who Am I Telling You? (With J.J. Cale)
  9. Don’t Cry Sister (With J.J. Cale)
  10. Cocaine (With J.J. Cale)
  11. Motherless Children
  12. Little Queen Of Spades
  13. Further On Up The Road
  14. Wonderful Tonight
  15. Layla
  16. Crossroads (with Robert Cray)


  • Eric Clapton: Guitar & Vocals
  • JJ Cale: Guitar & Vocals (Tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10)
  • Doyle Bramhall II: Guitar/Backing Vocals
  • Derek Trucks: Slide Guitar
  • Willie Weeks: Bass
  • Steve Jordan: Drums
  • Chris Stainton: Keyboards
  • Tim Carmon: Keyboards
  • Michelle John: Backing Vocals
  • Sharon White: Backing Vocals
  • Robert Cray: Guitar & Vocals (Track 16)