Watch Eddie Vedder & Lucius Cover George Harrison & The Beatles At Ohana

The festival’s host welcomed Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig for “Isn’t It A Pity” with a Beatles classic tagged on.

By Nate Todd Oct 2, 2023 3:05 pm PDT

Eddie Vedder played host to his Ohana Festival over the weekend at Southern California’s Doheny State Beach. After teaming with The Killers for a Tom Petty cover on Friday, the Pearl Jam frontman welcomed Lucius to help him on a song from Petty’s Traveling Wilburys bandmate, George Harrison — with a Beatles classic tagged on — to close his main set on Saturday.

After performing “The Waiting” with The Killers, Vedder launched his set with “I’ll Be Waiting,” a song appearing on his co-write with Irish singer-songwriter Glen Hansard, who performed with Eddie on Saturday. Vedder then delivered his own Tom Petty tribute, “Room At The Top,” ahead of “The Dark” from his 2022 album, Earthling, produced by another Vedder performer, Andrew Watt. Ed took the time to sing a few lines of Harrison’s Beatles favorite, “Here Comes The Sun, as a festival goer was attended to. Vedder offered additional Earthling cuts “Invincible,” “Long Way,” “Fallout Today,” “Brother The Cloud,” “The Haves,” “Try” and “Rose Of Jericho.”

Vedder also delivered Pearl Jam’s “Wishlist,” “Not For You,” “Lukin” and “Better Man” before welcoming Jess Wolfe and Holly Laessig of Lucius. Eddie praised the band’s set as well as a number of conservationists he spoke with at the festival benefitting the Doheny State Beach Interpretative Association as well as the San Onofre Parks Foundation, causes near to Vedder’s heart growing up surfing in the area.

“Some really incredible people,” Ed said of the conservationists. “With that in mind,” he continued, “we thought we’d borrow some words from George Harrison” — whose son Dhani had performed earlier in the day. The band then began the opening strains of George’s “Isn’t It A Pity,” penned in 1966 but never making it onto a Beatles album. Harrison found a home for his incredible songs on his debut solo album, All Things Must Pass, a triple LP released in November 1970.

Vedder led his Earthlings band — — including guitarists Hansard and Watt, drummer Abe Laboriel Jr. and Eddie’s Pearl Jam bandmate Josh Klinghoffer — through “Isn’t It A Pity” before letting Holly and Jess take over with soaring vocals along with some shred from Watt. Ed then led the way on a “Hey Jude” sing-along. Watch the standout performance below:

Todd Norris (See 22 videos)
Eddie Vedder (See 57 videos) , Holly Laessig (See 2 videos) , Jess Wolfe (See 2 videos) and Lucius (See 102 videos)

Vedder and company returned to kick off the encore with Pearl Jam’s “Just Breathe” before reeling off covers from U2 (“One”), The Cure (“Just Like Heaven”), festival performers the Pretenders’ “Precious” and Neil Young’s “Rockin’ In The Free World.”

Loading tour dates


Eddie Vedder at Doheny State Beach

  • I'll Be Waiting
  • Room at the Top  
  • The Dark  
  • Invincible
  • Long Way
  • Fallout Today
  • Brother the Cloud
  • Wishlist  
  • The Haves
  • Try
  • Not for You  
  • Lukin  
  • Rose of Jericho
  • Better Man  
  • Isn't It a Pity / Hey Jude  
  • Just Breathe  
  • One  
  • Just Like Heaven  
  • Precious  
  • Rockin' in the Free World  
JamBase Collections