Eddie Roberts Announces ‘Rare Sounds’ Vinyl Club

By Nate Todd Jul 30, 2020 11:55 am PDT

The New MastersoundsEddie Roberts announced the Rare Sounds vinyl club. The subscription service provides vinyl pressings of key recordings from the funk and soul revival which began in the 1990s.

Members of Rare Sounds will receive three vinyl records four times a year with the option for members to skip a box or swap out a record if it’s already in their collection. The first box, dubbed The Essentials, contains the Rare Sounds exclusive Keb Darge presents The New Mastersounds (2001) along with The Greyboy AllstarsWest Coast Boogaloo (1994) and Sharon Jones & The Dap-Kings Dap-Dippin’ (2002) as well as an exclusive Tasting Notes & Anecdotes booklet, a Rare Sounds slip mat, a Member Card for future discounts and promos and more.

Eddie Roberts detailed Rare Sounds via a statement. Read it below:

Rare Sounds is a new vinyl club that is here to tell the stories of the Funk & Soul Revival, from US to Europe, Japan to Australia. The late ‘90s Revival saw bands like The New Mastersounds, The Greyboy AllStars, Sugarman 3, the Dap-Kings, Galactic, Speedometer, The Bamboos, and Osaka Monaurail, bands of mavericks obsessed with recreating analog production, ‘60s grooves and soul songwriting. Throughout the next three decades, that sound continued to evolve and grow to where we are today. During the coming months, join me on the journey and enjoy some of the most influential records from the last 30 years.

Head here to sign up for the Rare Sounds vinyl club.

JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Live Video Archive
JamBase Collections